Genealogy Resources
Wikipedia (background research on dates and locations of births and deaths)



Family Search (Requires creating a free account)
 
National Libraries and Archives
Below are some links to National Libraries and Archives that have relevant material for topics that I was made aware of before our class session. If you are focusing on a figure who spent time in a country not represented here, I encourage you to locate National Archives and Libraries from those countries and see if they have digitized material that would be relevant. 

Library of Congress Digital Collections (U.S.)
National Archives and Records Administration (U.S.)
Argentine National Library
Brazilian National Library
Secondary Sources
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted Resource
Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1970-

Chicano Database Restricted Resource
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law. Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date

Fuente Academica Restricted Resource
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database covers 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Works Created by your Subject
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Summon Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web. (Remember to use the search outside this library option for a more comprehensive list of articles written by your subject). 

ArchiveGrid Indexes archival holdings by libraries and archives worldwide. 
Primary Source Collections
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Smithsonian Latino Center
University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Center
Latino Digital Heritage Archives
Digital Library of the Caribbean
Chicana por mi Raza
Latin American Digital Pamphlet Collection
 
Back to TOP