Oberlin Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections and the College Archives share space in the Goodrich room, which is located on the 4th floor of Mudd. 
 
Hours:  1:30-4:30pm M-F and by appointment
Rare, valuable published materials and objects of historic and artistic significance
 

Archives
Hours:  10am-noon, 1-4:30pm M-F
Unpublished materials and objects relating to the College and to some degree, the town

 
Primary Sources: Oberlin Databases
American West Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes manuscripts, maps, rare printed sources, ephemera, and images that document the history of the western United States.
Early Encounters in North America Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America.  Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text ethnographies subject-indexed at the paragraph level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
European Views of the Americas (1493-1750) Restricted Resource
Based on the bibligraphy “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.
American Periodicals (1740-1940) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American  history from 1801-1819.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
 
Oberlin Digital Collections
Oberlin Ethnographic Collection The roughly 1600 ethnographic objects comprising this database represent cultures of Africa, Asia, the Pacific and North America. They were collected during the late 19th and early 20th centuries primarily by alumni of Oberlin College who served as missionaries and teachers abroad. The objects, which their collectors perceived largely as souvenirs, mementos, and trophies of conversion, were donated to the former Oberlin College Museum.
Oberlin Evangelist Evangelist newspaper published semi-monthly in Oberlin. 
Sela G. Wright Digital Collection From 1843 until 1862, Sela G. Wright spent most of his time in Minnesota at the Ojibwe communities around Leech Lake and Red Lake before any land there was ceded to the U.S. government and throughout the establishment of the reservations at Leech Lake and Winnibigoshish in 1855. Wright was in many ways a typical missionary. He was interested in converting the Ojibwe to Christianity and documenting elements of Ojibwe culture that would provide a natural segue for his effort. He was also wanted to advance knowledge of the Ojibwe language in order to conduct missionary work in the native tongue and accelerate the rate of conversion. Wright also studied linguistics and saw his work as a contribution to the academic discipline. Wright took care to work with the linguistic field prototypes developed by Wesley Powell and others. Even today, Wright's field notes, vocabulary lists, and grammatical sketch of the Ojibwe language stand as a major contribution to the field of linguistics. Although it was not his primary concern or intention, Wright's correspondence, field notes, and grammar work also serve as instruments of lasting value to historians of the Ojibwe and to those who continue to strive for the revitalization of Ojibwe language and culture.
Secondary Sources: Context/Background
Book Search
Search OBIS
Secondary Sources: Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Bibliography of Native North Americans Restricted Resource
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Back to TOP