Search Almost Everything
All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Oxford Reference Online: History
A searchable collection of online reference sources from Oxford University Press in the discipline of History.

Biographical Sources

American National Biography Restricted Resource
Biographical information on tens of thousands of prominent Americans.  Entries are signed by the authors and include bibliographic references.

Databases

19th Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
A vast index to British and American periodicals, newspapers, books, and other sources documenting the 19th century. 

Dates of Coverage: 1786 -1922

19th Century U.S. Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899


African American Periodicals (1825-1995) Restricted Resource Some full text available
More than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. 

Dates of Coverage:  1964 to date


American History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Digital streaming videos including documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos, with searchable video transcripts.
American Periodicals (1740-1940) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.

Dates of Coverage: 1740 -1940
Ancestry - Library Edition Some full text available Resource contains images
An important genealogical database which allows users to search census data, vital and military records, immigration records, court documents, directories, photos, and more in one comprehensive resource.
note: Access to Ancestry - Library Edition is limited to on-campus users only
Bibliography of Native North Americans Restricted Resource
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
E. W. Scripps Papers (1868-1926) Some full text available Resource contains images
Letters and photos from the Scripps Manuscript Collection at Ohio University. Edward Willis Scripps (1854-1926) was a businessman and journalist associated with the founding of the Scripps Howard chain of newspapers and the United Press International independent news gathering company.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive source for primary documents of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries, the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, contains primary source matierial of all types documenting American  history from 1801-1819.
Early Encounters in North America Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource
Standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Users can view and download data, and  create customized tables and spreadsheets.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Restricted Resource
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.

Dates of coverage: 1975 to present


Nineteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection;  Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange;  British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture.


Periodicals Archive Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition Restricted Resource Some full text available
In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. 
note: Access may be discontinued; contact library staff with questions.

Government Information

American State Papers (1789-1838) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Legislative and executive branch documents from the first 14 U.S. congresses, including presidential speeches, treaties and more.
ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.

News & Analysis

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Primary Sources

Access Newspaper Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US covering a broad geographic range. 
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
 
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

 
American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
Archives Unbound Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Topically focused collections of historical documents.  
HarpWeek Restricted Resource Some full text available
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.

Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871.

NAACP Papers (1909-1970) Restricted Resource
Internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP, including papers of prominent individuals.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Resource contains images
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center provides a collection of digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text reports and documents produced by the U.S. House and Senate, broad coverage of topics in American political and social history.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted Resource
Standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Users can view and download data, and  create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP