All Items by Source Type

Databases

Cleveland News Index
Cleveland News Index provides citations to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999; Cleveland Magazine (1983- ); Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ); Ohio Magazine (1990- ). Includes obituaries since 1976.

Dates of Coverage: 1983- present and 1990-present

Finding Aid Repository
Finding Aid Repository allows researchers to search finding aids across institutions to locate archival materials and primary sources across Ohio.Finding aids are descriptive tools that come in a variety of formats and levels of detail that describe the contents of archival or manuscript collections.

Kent State Shootings Oral Histories Resource contains audio
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protestors at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman.

Lake Erie’s Yesterdays (digital photos) Resource contains images
A collection of historic photographs of northwestern Ohio, documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie’s western basin. These black and white images were produced by Sandusky, Ohio, commerical photographer Ernst Niebergall between 1909 and 1915.
Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints (1796-1850) Restricted Resource
Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850 describes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, from the earliest in 1796 through 1850. The Morgan Library of Ohio Imprints has also compiled an Index of Ohio People, Businesses and Institutions, 1796-1850 that includes 132,643 names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions.

Dates of Coverage: 1796-1850


Morgan Index of Ohio People, Businesses and Institutions, 1796-1850 Restricted Resource
Morgan Index of Ohio People, Businesses and Institutions, 1796-1850 includes 132,643 names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions. The names appear in the books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 through 1850 which are listed in the Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850. To date, the titles indexed are primarily school catalogues (over 37,000 student names), city directories, annual conventions, and many other individual titles.
Ohio Capitol Connection Restricted Resource
Ohio Capitol Connection provides information about current and past legislation of the Ohio General Assembly. Updated daily, it has the complete status and full text of bills introduced in the Ohio General Assembly. This database includes rosters of House and Senate members searchable by name or location, and addresses and biographies of the General Assembly members. While the database focuses on Ohio, information about the Federal government is also available.

Dates of coverage: 1989-current

Plain Dealer (1845-1991) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text access to the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991.




Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970.


Wright Brothers Digital Photographs Resource contains images
Wright Brothers Collection is a collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Cleveland History
The online Encyclopedia of Cleveland History is a project of Case Western Reserve University and the Western Reserve Historical Society

Journals

Ohio History


note: 2008-current issues
Ohio History


note: 1962-2004 issues

News & Analysis

Access Newspaper Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access Newspaper Archive Includes Buckeye Sentinel (1844-1845); Chronicle Telegram (1919-2007); Constitutionalist (1869-1872); Daily Chronicle (1901-1903); Elyria Chronicle (1853-1919); Elyria Daily Chronicle (1906-1907); Elyria Democrat (1887-1915); Elyria Evening Telegram (1913-1916); Elyria Independent Democrat (1860-1876); Evening Telegram (1907-1919); Independent Treasury (1841-1842); Lorain Constitutionalist (1871-1871); Lorain Republican (1842-1844); Lorain Standard (1840-1840); Reporter (1907-1907); Sunday Times-Signal (1926-1926); Weekly Chronicle (1902-1904)



Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News

Dates of Coverage: 1860-1937

Index to the Oberlin Observer
Dates of Coverage: 1979-1998
Oberlin Evangelist 1838-1862 Some full text available
Searchable digital scans of the Oberlin Evangelist, a valuable resource for early Oberlin College and town history, as well as the intellectual, social and religious history of the antebellum era.
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP