Search for Articles in History Journals
Search Historical Abstracts
Limit Your Results
All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

A to Z Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images
A to Z Maps includes:Animal & plant distribution maps -- Antique maps -- Bible maps -- Canada maps -- Climate change maps -- Current event maps -- Earthquake maps -- Education-teaching tools -- Environmental maps -- Flags of the world -- Geography databases -- Geology maps -- GIS data -- Glossaries -- Google Earth -- Hurricane maps -- Map games & puzzles -- Modern map collection -- NASA maps -- Software -- USA maps -- Volcano maps -- Weather maps

Background & Context Sources

Oxford Reference Online: History
A searchable collection of online reference sources from Oxford University Press in the discipline of History.

Databases

19th Century British Library Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
19th Century British Library Newspapers Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Dates of Coverage: 1800s


19th Century British Pamphlets Restricted Resource Some full text available
19th Century British Pamphlets Includes seven individual collections held at universities within the UK, many of which are whole collections that belonged to individual politicians or political families. These are: Bristol Selected pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet collection, and LSE Selected pamphlets.

Dates of Coverage: 1603-1899
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) Restricted Resource
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 500,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Dates of Coverage: 1971-
Cambridge Histories Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Brings together over 250 volumes from the renowned Cambridge Histories series.
Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collections of primary source documents including: Afghanistan 1973-1990, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, China and the US 1960-1998, Cuban Missile Crisis 1962, El Salvador 1977-1984, El Salvador 1980-1994, Guatemala and the US 1954-1999, Iran 1977-1980, Iran-Contra Affair, Iraqgate 1980-1994, Japan and the US 1960-1976, Nicaragua 1978-1990, Philippines 1965-1986, Presidential Directives Part I from Truman to Clinton, Presidential Directives Part II from Truman to George Bush, South Africa 1962-1989, Soviet Estimate 1947-1991, Terrorism and U.S. Policy 1968-2002, US Espionage and Intelligence, US Intelligence Community, US Military Uses of Space, US Nuclear History, US Nuclear Non-Proliferation, and US Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968.
Early English Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Early English Books Online includes the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare; this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership Restricted Resource Some full text available
Allows searching of the full texts of the works.

note: This interface allows full text searching.
EBSEES: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers West European scholarship on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and East-Central and Eastern Europe, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications published since 1991. Countries of publication include Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Finland, France, Great Britain, Germany, and the Netherlands.

Dates of Coverage: 1991-2007

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on the English Short Title Catalogue, and includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)

Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800

English Short Title Catalogue
English Short Title Catalogue is drawn from the extensive collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries, the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published mainly in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800. Items listed are mainly, but not exclusively, in English.

Dates of Coverage: 1473-1800

European Views of the Americas: 1493 - 1750 Restricted Resource
European Views of the Americas: 1493 - 1750 Created in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, based on the bibligraphy “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”

Dates of Coverage: 1493-1750

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613, the beginning of the Romanov dynasty, because the sixteenth century is still medieval in social and political terms. The geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans traveled. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications in English, French, German, and Spanish are currently being indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996 Restricted Resource
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Heritage of the Printed Book Restricted Resource
Heritage of the Printed Book integrates descriptive records for major European national, university and research library holdings. HPB is valuable for research in intellectual history, social history, transmission of thought, and the history of printing and the history of the book. It is an essential resource for anyone interested in Europe's multilingual print culture durng the "handpress" period. It includes citations for works in Latin, Middle French, and other archaic languages.

Dates of Coverage: 1455-1830.


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to more than 3,100 academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available.
 
Dates of Coverage: 1955-

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Restricted Resource
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.


Dates of Coverage: 1975-


Index Islamicus Restricted Resource
Includes work written about the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Dates of Coverage: 1906 --

International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
index to journal articles, conference proceedings, collected essays, and exhibition catalogues published world-wide
- Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa
- Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes Qur'anic studies resources, including two translations of the Qur'an, a concordance, primary source documents with editorial introductions, timelines, and images. 

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. This first iteration, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, contains over 1.5 million searchable pages from more than 7,000, 80 serials, more than fifteen manuscript collections, & court records, as well as reference materials. Material published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions
note: Access may be discontinued in the near future; contact library staff if you have questions about it
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2007) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Times of London Digital Archive allows browsing by date as well as keyword searching.

Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2007

Primary Sources

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts Resource contains images
A catalog designed to link users to fully-digitized medieval manuscripts currently available online.
Europeana Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP