All Items by Source Type

Audio Files

Glenn Gould Archive Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The archives of concert pianist Glenn Gould. Includes selected audio files, images, bibliography, finding aids, and full-text writings by or about Gould.

Databases

Pipedreams, the American Public Radio program devoted to the organ Resource contains audio
Pipedreams, the American Public Radio program (created by Oberlin alumnus Michael Barone) devoted to the organ and its literature).

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Organ Stops
An extensive online encyclopedia of organ stops and other organ-related topics.
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

Gesellschaft der Orgelfreunde
Repository of information for and about the organ.
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
Organ Historical Society
 Dedicated to documenting and preserving historic pipe organs and to raising public awareness and appreciation of America's organ heritage. Website contains information on membership, meetings, and local chapters, as well as an extensive catalog of books, scores, and recordings for sale.
Piano Technicians Guild
An association for professional and avocational interest in piano technology and the administrator of Registered Piano Technician (RPT) certification.
The American Guild of Organists
A national professional association in the fields of organ and choral music, with 330 chapters throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Sponsors conferences, competitions, publications, educational projects, and professional certification programs.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

Glenn Gould Archive Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The archives of concert pianist Glenn Gould. Includes selected audio files, images, bibliography, finding aids, and full-text writings by or about Gould.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request. They include European and American books, scores, instruments, and iconography in the Frederick R. Selch Collection of American Music History; jazz recordings and memorabilia in the James and Susan Neumann Collection; books and journals in the Violin Society of America/H. K. Goodkind Collection; letters, photographs, and autographs of composers in the Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection; early 19th-century playbills in the Thomas Goodwin Collection; and further historical holdings in the library's general collection. Online inventories are available for some collections; digitization of finding aids and objects in the Selch and Neumann Collections is in progress.
William Steinway Diary: 1861-1896 Some full text available Resource contains images
2,500 pages of piano builder William Steinway's diary. Provides high-resolution images as well as transcriptions and annotations (in progress). Topics include personal reminiscences, piano building and the company Steinway & Sons, and New York and U.S. politics, society, and cultural life.

Repertoire Guides

Bio-Bibliographical Index of Organ Music: Composers, Works, Editions: 1150-2000
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6 B42 2001 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Directory of Composers for Organ
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6 H44 2005
OBIS record
Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers
Print Location: Con Reference ML102.P5 D44 2002
OBIS record
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P3 H5 2000
OBIS record
Harpsichord and Clavichord Music of the Twentieth Century
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H35B39 1993
OBIS record
Kammermusik-Katalog. Ein Verzeichnis von seit 1841 veröffentlichten Kammermusikwerken
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4 A5 1967
OBIS record
Kammermusik-Katalog; Verzeichnis der von 1944 bis 1958 veröffentlichten Werke für Kammermusik und für Klavier vier- und sechshändig sowie für zwei und mehr Klaviere
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4R55
OBIS record
Keyboard Music by Women Composers: a Catalog and Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H35M43
OBIS record
Keyboard Music of Black Composers: a Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B45H68 1992
OBIS record
La musique d'orgue: guide de la musique d'orgue imprimee
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6 L38 2000
OBIS record
Music for Three or More Pianists: A Historical Survey and Catalogue
Print Location: Con Reference ML700.M39 1993
OBIS record
Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers: an Annotated Catalog
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6O73 1991
OBIS record
Organ Literature: a Comprehensive Survey
Print Location: Con Reference ML600 .A76 1995 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Organ Plus: a Catalogue of Ensemble Music for Organ with Other Instruments
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6S7 1992
OBIS record
Organ-preludes; an Index to Compositions on Hymn Tunes, Chorales, Plainsong Melodies, Gregorian Tunes and Carols
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O6 E4
OBIS record
Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P3 H536 1990
OBIS record
Piano Music by Black Women Composers: a Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P3W3 1992
OBIS record
Twentieth-Century Harpsichord Music; a Classified Catalog
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H35B4
OBIS record

Video Files

Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers

Complete list of current and historic news sources.

Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Division of Keyboard Studies
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP