All Items by Source Type

Bibliographies

Bach Bibliography
More than 38,000 entries for scholarly books, facsimiles, articles, dissertations, and conference papers in the field of Bach studies.
Beethoven Gateway
An index of books, articles, scores, archival collections, and other materials for the study of Beethoven. Formerly the Beethoven Bibliography Database. Maintained by the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies, San José State University.
Biographisch-bibliograpisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts
Print Location: Con Ref ML105 .E36
OBIS record
Index of Gregorian Chant
Print Location: Con Ref ML102.C45 B8
OBIS record
Music for the Baroque Guitar
A bibliography of printed guitar tablatures from the 17th and 18th centuries, in both the Rasgueado and mixed styles, with detailed descriptions and indexes of each source.

Databases

Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi
A dictionary of medieval Latin musical terminology, ca. 500-1500, with entries in German, English, and French.
Riemann Musik Lexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .R522
OBIS record
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Dictionnaire de la Musique en France aux XVIIe et XVIIIe Siècles
Print Location: Con Ref ML101 .F8 D53 1992
OBIS record
Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart: Allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik (MGG)
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .M92 1994 v.1-17
OBIS record
Oesterreichisches Musiklexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML101.A93 O47 2002
OBIS record
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Handbooks & Guides

A Performer's Guide to Seventeenth-Century Music, rev. ed.
Print Location: Con Books ML457 .P49 2012
OBIS record
Aesthetics of Music in Sixteenth Century Germany, the Low Countries and England
Print Location: Con Books ML3845 .W576 1996
OBIS record
Aesthetics of Music in Sixteenth Century Italy, France, and Spain
Print Location: Con Books ML3845 .W578 1996
OBIS record
Dance Rhythms of the French Baroque: A Handbook for Performance
Print Location: Con Books ML3427 .M37 1987
OBIS record
Essays on Italian Music in the Cinquecento
Print Location: Con Books ML290.2 .E87 1990
OBIS record
French Baroque Music from Beaujoyeulx to Rameau
Print Location: Con Books ML270.2 .A6 1997
OBIS record
French Musical Thought, 1600-1800
Print Location: Con Books ML270.2 .F73 1989
OBIS record
Guide to Musical Temperament
Print Location: Con Books ML3809 .D66 2005
OBIS record
Harmonic Orator: The Phrasing and Rhetoric of the Melody in French Baroque Airs
Print Location: Con Books ML2827 .R36 2001
OBIS record
Interpretation of Early Music, new rev. ed.
Print Location: Con Books ML457 .D64 1989
OBIS record
Italian "Trio" Sonata: From Its Origins until Corelli
Print Location: Con Books ML1156 .A44 I8 1992
OBIS record
Jean-Baptiste Lully and the Music of the French Baroque: Essays in Honor of James R. Anthony
Print Location: Con Books ML410 .L95 J4 1989
OBIS record
Music in Late Renaissance and Early Baroque Italy
Print Location: Con Books ML290.2 .C22 1992
OBIS record
Performance Practices of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries
Print Location: Con Books ML457 .N46 1993
OBIS record
Registration of Baroque Organ Music
Print Location: Con Books MT189 .O94 1997
OBIS record
Rhythmic Alteration in Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Music: Notes Inégales and Overdotting
Print Location: Con Books ML437 .H43 1993
OBIS record

Iconography

A History of Music in Pictures
Print Location: Con Books 780.9 K625
OBIS record
Inventory of Music Iconography / International Repertory of Musical Iconography
Print Location: Con Books ML85 .I6
OBIS record
Musical Iconography: A Manual for Cataloguing Musical Subjects in Western Art before 1800
Print Location: Con Reference ML111 .B825 M9
OBIS record
Musikgeschichte in Bildern
Print Location: Con Books 780.9 B464M
OBIS record
RIdIM: Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale Resource contains images
Facilitates discovery of music iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Libretti, Texts & Synopses

Bach Cantatas
Texts and translations of Bach's vocal works, including cantatas, arias, and other vocal pieces.

Organizations & Associations

American Institute of Musicology (AIM)
A society formed to support interest in and publications about medieval, Renaissance, and early baroque music.
American Musical Instrument Society (AMIS)
Promotes understanding of the history, design, construction, restoration, and usage of musical instruments in all cultures and periods.
American Recorder Society
An organization estalished to support recorder players and to publish editions of recorder music.
Early Music America (EMA)
The goal of EMA is to raise public awareness of western art music from the medieval, Renaissance, Baroque and Classical periods.
Early Music Network Resource contains audio
A non-profit organization whose goal is to promote, revive, and support historical performance practice all over the world. Members recieve a monthly e-newsletter, are eligible for discounts on concert tickets, recordings, and instrument insurance, and may be featured on EarlyMusic.net Radio.
Society for Eighteenth-Century Music (SECM)
The purpose of this society is to promote the study and performance of music of the eighteenth century.
The American Guild of Organists
A national professional association in the fields of organ and choral music, with 330 chapters throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Sponsors conferences, competitions, publications, educational projects, and professional certification programs.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM) Resource contains images
Digital archive of medieval, Renaissance, and early-modern music manuscripts. More than 25,000 high-resolution images, many with extensive metadata.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Primary Sources - Composer Specific

Bach Digital Resource contains images
A digital library of Johann Sebastian Bach's autograph manuscripts and original parts in high-resolution scans, and a catalog of information about all of Bach's works and their written transmission.
Beethoven-Haus Bonn Digital Archives Resource contains images
The digital archives of the Beethoven-Haus contain more than 5,000 facsimiles of music manuscripts, sketches, first editions, letters, and photographs, accompanied by audio files, bibliographies, and historical background.
European Mozart Ways Resource contains images
Interactive maps and timelines examine Mozart's life through his travels. Also includes In Mozart's Words, a four-language, annotated, searchable edition of his letters (in progress).
Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection Resource contains images
Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century scores, manuscripts, and libretti of operas, ballets, and theatrical works by Jean-Baptiste Lully.

Repertoire Guides

Blockfloten-Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.R31A4 1966 bds. 1-3
OBIS record

French Harpsichord Music of the 17th Century: a Thematic Catalog of the Sources, with Commentary
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H35G9 vols. 1-3
OBIS record
Handbuch der Blockfloten-Literatur
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.R31W6
OBIS record

Harpsichord Booke: Being a Plaine & Simple Index to Printed Collections of Musick by Different Masters for the Harpsichord, Spinnet, Clavichord & Virginall
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H35A71986
OBIS record
Italian Baroque Solo Sonatas for the Recorder and the Flute
Print Location: Con Reference ML128 .F7 M235
OBIS record

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Video Files

medici.tv Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
MUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative Resource contains video
a collaborative digital initiative in the form of a video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy and initiated by the New World Symphony
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

Arto Wikla's Early Music Pages Resource contains images
A site dedicated to early music, with a focus on instrumental music. Features transcriptions of lute and theorbo pieces.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers

Complete list of current and historic news sources.

Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP