All Items by Source Type

Databases

Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Instrumentation
Print Location: Con Ref MT70 .S78 1985
OBIS record
Performing Times of Orchestral Works
Print Location: Con Ref ML457 .A76
OBIS record

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

American Choral Directors Association (ACDA)
A nonprofit music-education organization whose central purpose is to promote excellence in choral music through performance, composition, publication, research, and teaching.
American Federation of Musicians
A labor union of professional musicians in the United States and Canada.

Bands of America
A marching band competition program, part of Music for All.

Chorus America
An advocacy, research, and leadership development organization in choral music. Supports and serves choral conductors, administrators, board members, and singers with tools, training, peer networking, and access.
International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians (ICSOM)
Represents more than 4,000 musicians from the top 51 American Federation of Musician orchestras in the United States and Puerto Rico. Website includes archived editions of ICSOM's newsletter, as well as news and information on member orchestras.
League of American Orchestras
An organization of about 850 orchestras across North America, including professional orchestras, community groups, summer festivals, and student and youth ensembles. Website offers information on conferences, research, advocacy, and educational endeavors.
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
The American Guild of Organists
A national professional association in the fields of organ and choral music, with 330 chapters throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Sponsors conferences, competitions, publications, educational projects, and professional certification programs.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
New York Philharmonic Digital Archives Resource contains images
Digitized materials from the New York Philharmonic archives. Includes scores, programs, press clippings, business documents, images, film, audio, and video. Digitization in progress, beginning with materials from 1943-70.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Repertoire Guides

Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period
Print Location: ML128 .C48 G703 2002
OBIS record
Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Twentieth Century
Print Location: ML128 .C48 G7 1994
OBIS record
Conductor's Repertory of Chamber Music: Compositions for Nine to Fifteen Solo Instruments
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .C4 S37 1993
OBIS record
Orchestral Music: A Handbook
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .O5 D3 2005
OBIS record
Wind Ensemble/Band Repertoire
Print Location: ML128 .W5 W355 1984
OBIS record

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Video Files

Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances.

note: Only one user at a time.
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

ChoralNet
 A professional networking site for the global online choral community. Includes forums, links to choral organizations, and recent choral news. Operated by the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA).
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers

Complete list of current and historic news sources.

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP