All Items by Source Type

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Contemporary Music: the Gateway to Contemporary Music Resources in France
Search the holdings of numerous French organizations, to find information about contemporary musical works (1945-present): their scores and sound recordings; performances and program notes; reviews and analyses; bibliographies of related research.

Bibliographies

Jazz Research and Performance Materials: A Select Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .J3 M33 1995
OBIS record

Databases

Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Music Industry Data Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Music Tech Dictionary: A Glossary of Audio-Related Terms and Technologies
Print Location: Con Ref ML102 .S67 G35 2009
OBIS record
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.

Discography

Billboard Music Charts
Current chart data compiled from sales, streaming play, and radio play numbers, including the complete weekly Hot 100 and Billboard 200 charts, the top halves of other current charts, and some historical charts.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

American Composers Alliance
Founded to encourage the inclusion of American works in the programs of performers and performing organizations.
American Composers Forum
Supports composers' artistic and professional growth through a variety of programs and services, including commissions, performances, readings and fellowships.
American Music Center
An advocacy organization formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music.
American Society for Acoustic Ecology Resource contains audio
 organization dedicated to exploring the role of sound in natural habitats and human societies and promoting public dialogue concerning the identification, preservation, and restoration of natural and cultural sound environments.
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)
ASCAP, an organization owned and run by its members, is the leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing over 435,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers.
ARChive of Contemporary Music
An archive, library, and research center founded to collect popular music of all cultures and races from 1950 to the present. Includes timelines, bibliographies, and guides to popular musical instruments worldwide.
Australian Music Centre
National service organization dedicated to the promotion and support of creators and performers of contemporary classical, improvised jazz, experimental music and sound art in Australia.
Institute for Psychoacoustics and Electronic Music (IPEM)
Provides a scientific basis for the cultural and creative sector and does pioneering research work on the relationship between music body movement and new technologies. Part of the Department of Musicology, University of Ghent.
International Association of Music Information Centres (IAMIC)
An EU-funded network of national organizations dedicated to promoting the knowledge and use of contemporary music of all genres.
International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives
Network of archives that preserve recorded sound and audiovisual documents.
International Computer Music Association (ICMA)
ICMA disseminates information about the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music.
IRCAM: Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique
IRCAM coordinates various scientific points of view on musical phenomena in the fields of physics, sound signal processing, computer science, cognitive psychology, and musicology.
Music Encoding Initiative
A community project to create an open, XML-based standard for encoding music notation, designed by scholars for use in facsimile, critical, and performance editions.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Software & Web Tools

Auricle 3.0
Professional software for film music composers.

Video Files

Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances.

note: Only one user at a time.
medici.tv Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities (CCARH)
CCARH is a research facility which constructs databases and creates programs to allow researchers to access, analyze, print, and electronically perform music. The site includes documentation and tutorials on music notation, score production, and computer-assisted analysis using MuseData, SCORE, Humdrum, and other tools. See the CCARHWiki for links to some printable scores and parts.
Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA)
CCRMA is a multi-disciplinary research facility using technology both for research and as an artistic medium.
Laboratory of Integrated Systems
A pioneer in several research areas, including intelligent systems and operations, digital computer systems, integrated microsystems, and VLSI systems design methodologies. LSI maintains strong partnerships with industry and international institutions.
Music, Mind, Machine Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Features research in computational modeling of music cognition, including papers with sound examples, animations, archives, demonstrations, and other material.
music21: a toolkit for computer-aided musicology
A Python-based set of tools for use in computational musicology, music informations, musical example extraction and generation, music notation editing and scripting, and composition.
NewMusicBox Some full text available Resource contains audio
A multimedia publication from New Music USA offering in-depth profiles, articles, and discussions, up-to-the-minute industry news and commentary, a portal to the internet radio station Counterstream, and access to an online library of more than 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers.
Sequenza21 / The Contemporary Classical Music Community
A community site focused on contemporary and new music, with blogs, interviews, a concert calendar, and CD reviews.
Sound and Music (SAM)
Seeks to raise the profile of new music and sound, bringing together the British Music Information Centre, the Contemporary Music Network, the Society for the Promotion of New Music, and the Sonic Arts Network.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Division of Contemporary Music
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP