All Items by Source Type

Audio Files

LOUISiana Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photographs and sound recordings pertaining to New Orleans jazz. Includes the Louisiana State Museum's entire collection of images of Louis Armstrong, as well as recordings of jazz musicians active in New Orleans.
Naxos Music Library Jazz Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.

Bibliographies

Jazz Research and Performance Materials: A Select Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .J3 M33 1995
OBIS record

Databases

ACO Music Data Analysis Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
ASCAP Song Database
ASACAP collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.
BMI Song Search
Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.
Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Oberlin College Song Index
Index of 53,000+ songs in anthologies held by the Oberlin Conservatory Library.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
University of Tennessee Song Index Resource contains images
An index of about 50,000 songs published in over 1,500 anthologies.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Jazz-Lexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML102 .J3 K86 1988
OBIS record

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.

Discography

Billboard Music Charts
Current chart data compiled from sales, streaming play, and radio play numbers, including the complete weekly Hot 100 and Billboard 200 charts, the top halves of other current charts, and some historical charts.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Images

Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz The William P. Gottlieb Collection (Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Library of Congress) Some full text available Resource contains images
Over 1,600 photographs of celebrated jazz artists, 1938-48, primarily in New York City and Washington, D.C. This online collection presents Gottlieb's photographs, annotated contact prints, selected published prints, and related articles from Down Beat magazine.

Weber Jazz Collection, 1970-2005 Resource contains images
Photographs of experimental jazz musicians, taken during the 1970s-1990s in Los Angeles, by Mark Weber. The physical collection, part of the UCLA Library's Performing Arts Special Collections, also includes notes, clippings, interview transcripts, correspondence, programs, flyers and articles.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Museums & Galleries

Louis Armstrong House Museum Resource contains images
The world's largest archives devoted to a single jazz musician. Includes sound recordings, photographs, films, scrapbooks, correspondence and papers, and six trumpets. Search the catalog of the museum for information about its holdings and to see representative photographs from the collections.

Organizations & Associations

All About Jazz Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A website and online publication maintained by a volunteer staff of writers, editors, and musicians. Includes articles, reviews, MP3 downloads, a jazz radio stream, events calendars, and more.
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)
ASCAP, an organization owned and run by its members, is the leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing over 435,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers.
Center for Black Music Research (CBMR)
A research institute, library, and archives documenting the black music experience across Africa and the diaspora. The website includes bibliographies, discographies, and background information on musical styles and genres.
Cleveland Jazz History
Compiled by The Northeast Ohio Jazz Society, this resource contains a wealth of local history and information.
Hiphop Archive Resource contains video
Devoted to the study, preservation, creation, and representation of hiphop music. In addition to its research initiatives, collects all foms of related material culture, including recordings, videos, websites, publications, and original papers. Website includes introductions to hiphop scholarship, terminology, bibliographies, video from panels and discussions, and more.
Jazz Corner Resource contains audio
A portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. Also offers news, forums, podcasts, and streaming audio.
Jazzinstitut Darmstadt
Jazzinstitut Darmstadt has a massive collection of periodicals that they, in true German fashion, have meticulously indexed.  You can email them to request a bibliography of any jazz-related topic, and they will create it and email it to you.  It's a great starting point for any substantial research topic on jazz.

Primary Sources

Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Web Sites

Jazz Times
A source for articles, reviews, promotional MP3s, and guides to records, events, and educational programs.
Smithsonian Jazz
A portal for jazz research, education, and appreciation, with links to oral histories, research collections, jazz education resources, and information about exhibits, events, and performances.
Jeremy Smith Jeremy Smith
Curator of the James & Susan Neumann Jazz Collection

Schedule a reference appointment: 440/775-5181
jeremy.smith@oberlin.edu


Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Division of Jazz

Jazz Studies Department:

Back to TOP