All Items by Source Type

Bibliographies

Guitar Bibliography: an International Listing of Theoretical Literature on Classical Guitar from the Beginning to the Present
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.G8S41984
OBIS record
Music for the Lute, Guitar, and Vihuela (1470-1800)
A bibliography of music, mostly in tablature, for the lute, guitar, vihuela, and other plucked string instruments, written during the late-15th century through the 18th century. Detailed descriptions and indexes are available for some sources in the bibliography.
Violin: a Research and Information Guide
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V4 K38 2006
OBIS record

Databases

Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

American Federation of Musicians
A labor union of professional musicians in the United States and Canada.

American Federation of Violin and Bow Makers
A selective society of violin and bow makers. Website provides information on membership and on biennial meetings.
American Harp Society
An association of leading soloists, orchestral players, commercial, jazz and popular performers, freelancers, harp therapists, college and university professors, adult amateurs, and students of all ages. Fosters appreciation of the harp, encourages the composition of harp music, and seeks to improve the quality of harp performance.
American String Teachers Association (ASTA)
Provides an array of services, including a peer-reviewed journal, instrument insurance, discounts on publications and other resources, annual professional development opportunities, and access to a network of colleagues throughout the string profession.
American Viola Society Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Promotes interest in the viola by supporting performance, education, and research. Website includes information on jobs, competitions, and educational programs and offers various scores and audio and video recordings.
Canadian Viola Society
 The Canadian chapter of the International Viola Society.

International Society of Folk Harpers and Craftsmen (ISFHC)
An organization concerned with harp performance, education, craftsmanship, and outreach.
International Viola Society (IVS)
Association for the advancement of viola performance and research. Website includes information on congresses, national chapters, awards, publications, and events.
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
The Violin Society of America
 A society devoted to the science of making, repairing, and preserving stringed musical instruments and their bows. Website contains information on membership, publications, competitions, and outreach.
World Harp Congress
A global alliance of harpists, teachers, and scholars concerned with composition, education, appreciation, and performance of harp music. Promotes communication through international congresses and publications.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection (American Memory Project) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
An ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed of Glen Lyn, Virginia, and recorded by folklorist Alan Jabbour in 1966-67. Includes original sound recordings, field notes, and musical transcriptions with descriptive notes on tune histories.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.
Primrose International Viola Archive (PIVA) Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Primrose International Viola Archive (PIVA), housed at Brigham Young University in Provo, UT, is the official viola archive of the both the International Viola Society and American Viola Society. PIVA holds the largest collection in the world of the viola literature as well as William Primrose's own collection of letters, personal belongings and instruments.

Repertoire Guides

Bibliography of Cello Ensemble Music
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V5K45
OBIS record
Catalog of Compositions for Guitar by Women Composers
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.G8M322 1984
OBIS record
Cellist's Companion: a Comprehensive Catalogue of Cello Literature
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V5 L3 2007
OBIS record
Cello Music Since 1960: a Bibliography of Solo, Chamber & Orchestral Works for Solo Cellist
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V5 H66 1994
OBIS record
Comprehensive Catalog of Available Literature for the Double Bass
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.D6G7 1974
OBIS record
Dictionnaire du répertoire de la harpe
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H3 G55 2003
OBIS record
Gitarre-Musik: ein internationaler Katalog
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.G8M67 1985
OBIS record
Harp Music Bibliography Supplement: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H3 P35 2002 Suppl
OBIS record
Harp Music Bibliography: Chamber Music and Concertos
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H3 P34 2002
OBIS record
Harp Music Bibliography: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H3 P35 1995
OBIS record
Index of Cello Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio-Sonatas
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V5 W544
OBIS record
Index of Viola Music
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V36 W544
OBIS record
Index of Violin Music.
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V4 W53
OBIS record
Kammermusik-Katalog. Ein Verzeichnis von seit 1841 veröffentlichten Kammermusikwerken
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4 A5 1967
OBIS record
La guitare en concert: catalogue des œuvres avec guitare du XXe siècle (duos, trios, musique de chambre, orchestre, concertos)
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.G8 H45 1983
OBIS record
Literature for Viola: Catalogue of Works for Viola Solo, Duos with Viola, Trios with Viola, Solo Viola with Accompaniment, Recorder with Viola, Voice with Viola, and Methods, Etudes and Exercises for Viola
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V36 Z5 1985
OBIS record
Music for Solo Violin Unaccompanied: a Catalogue of Published and Unpublished Works from the Seventeenth Century to 1989
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V4 E35 1989
OBIS record
Music for Solo Violin Unaccompanied; a Performer's Guide to the Published Literature of the Seventeenth, Eighteenth, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V4 M373 1983
OBIS record
Music for Viola
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V36 W544
OBIS record
Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .O5 R2 1993
OBIS record
Solo Cello: a Bibliography of the Unaccompanied Violoncello Literature
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V5M28 1989
OBIS record
String Music of Black Composers: a Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B45H7 1991
OBIS record
Viola Bibliographie: das Repertoire für die historische Bratsche von 1649 bis nach 1800; kommentiertes thematisches Verzeichnis
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V36 J35 1998
OBIS record
Viola d'amore Bibliographie: Verzeichnis gedruckter und ungedruckter Werke mit Viola d'amore als Soloinstrument, in Duos, Trios, Quartetten, Quintetten usw., als Soloinstrument in Konzerten, in Werken mit Singstimmen sowie Schul- und Stu
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V38 B47 1994
OBIS record
Violin and Violoncello in Duo without Accompaniment
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.V4I6
OBIS record

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Special Collections

Cello Music Collections (UNC-Greesboro)
Descriptions and finding aids for the Cello Music Collections at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro. Cumulatively, these nine collections form the world's largest holdings of cello-related materials.

Video Files

MUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative Resource contains video
a collaborative digital initiative in the form of a video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy and initiated by the New World Symphony
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

Cello Classics
A British enterprise dedicated to releasing CDs of unexplored repertoire for the cello, played by past and present performers.
Cello Heaven
A discussion board for cellists throughout the world.

Harp.com
A collection of hundreds of harp scores, books, recordings, strings, and accessories available for purchase. Also provides information on competitions and current events.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP