All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Good Ear
This site is exactly what it sounds like: a straightforward, ear-training tool. There are aural exercises in identifying intervals, chords, scales, and cadences.
Music Theory and History Online Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Created by the England-based Dolmetsch Foundation.  A repository for the basics of notation, meter, rhythm, chord structures, and more.
Teoría—Music Theory Web Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Awarded the 2006 Merlot Classic Award in music, this site is dedicated to the study and practice of music theory. There are tutorials on reading music, intervals, scales, chords, harmonic functions, and interactive exercises.  It was developed by Jose Rodriguez Alvira, professor at the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico.

Databases

Music Theory Online Dissertation Index
An index of dissertations in music theory, with abstracts and tables of contents. Part of Music Theory Online.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Riemann Musik Lexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .R522
OBIS record
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Handbooks & Guides

Music Notation in the Twentieth Century: A Practical Guidebook
Print Location: Con Books MT35 .S87
OBIS record
Notations
Print Location: Con Books 781.24 C117N
OBIS record
Preparing Music Manuscript
Print Location: Con Ref MT35 .D65
OBIS record

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM)
IASPM supports scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
Society for Music Theory (SMT) Some full text available
The Society for Music Theory promotes music theory as both a scholarly and a pedagogical discipline. Website contains information on meetings, local chapters and interest groups, grants, and publications, including the full text of Music Theory Online.

Primary Sources

Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.
Saggi Musicali Italiani Some full text available
A full-text archive of major Italian treatises on music theory and aesthetics, from the Renaissance through the 19th century.
Schenker Documents Online Some full text available Resource contains images
A project to create an online inventory of Schenker's correspondence, with transcriptions, English translations, and commentary.
Texts on Music in English from the Medieval and Early Modern Eras (TME) Some full text available
A full-text archive of English works on music theory and aesthetics from the middle ages and Renaissance.
Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) Resource contains images
A database of medieval and Renaissance music theory texts in Latin. Searchable text with facsimiles of musical examples.
Thesaurus Musicum Italicarum (TMI) Some full text available
Italian music treatises in searchable transcriptions. From the Renaissance and early baroque, including works by Pietro Aaron and Gioseffo Zarlino.

Video Files

Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

music21: a toolkit for computer-aided musicology
A Python-based set of tools for use in computational musicology, music informations, musical example extraction and generation, music notation editing and scripting, and composition.
Zeitschriften (Musik) Some full text available Resource contains images
A collection of links to digitized pre-1923 music journals. Most are German-language, but periodicals from a number of countries, including France, Italy, the UK, and the US are included.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP