All Items by Source Type

Databases

ASCAP Song Database
ASACAP collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.
BMI Song Search
Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.
Folk Song Index
Folk Song Index includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 42,700 entries, and, to date, indexes over 2,225 anthologies.
Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Oberlin College Song Index
Index of 53,000+ songs in anthologies held by the Oberlin Conservatory Library.
Opening Night! Opera & Oratorio Premieres
Provides a cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Libretti, Texts & Synopses

American Operas
Detailed information on 44 operas, including synopses, character listing, and performance history.
Aria Database, The
The Aria Database is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias.  Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the Database includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.
Bach Cantatas
Texts and translations of Bach's vocal works, including cantatas, arias, and other vocal pieces.

Gilbert and Sullivan Archive Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Includes synopses, libretti, scores, images, and audio.
Libretto Homepage
The most complete site for opera libretti available.  Navigation leaves much to be desired, but the site's content more than compensates.  Most libretti can be found with an accompanying English translation, only a few texts are left solely in the original language.
MetOpera Database Resource contains images
Information about every Metropolitan Opera performance since 1883. Includes cast and production information, photographs and designs, and reviews.
Metropolitan Opera Synopses
metA collection of synopses of operas in the Met's repertoire since 1996.
Naxos' Synopses of Operas
Part of Naxos' education page at their commercial site.  Synopses not only include plot, but character break-down and a short history.  Contains many hard-to-find operas.
Opera Liber: Biblioteca Digitale del Libretto d’Opera
Transcriptions of Italian opera libretti from the period between 1870 and 1920. Site and libretti available in Italian only.
OperaGlass
Information about operas, including libretti, synopses and sources, performance histories, and discographies.

Organizations & Associations

Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
Opera America
National service organization for opera.

Yaptracker
The ultimate resource for young artists and emerging professionals. Their sophisticated tracking system will keep you apprised of upcoming applications and auditions.

Primary Sources

Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Translation & Diction

International Phonetic Alphabet Project, The
An on-line project devoted to greater understanding of phonetic usage. The site contains character charts along with audio samples of specific sounds and these sounds as found in complete words. This site also contains detailed IPA for German, French, and Spanish.
IPA Source: IPA transcriptions and literal translations of songs and arias Restricted Resource
IPA Source contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
IPA, International Phonetic Association
The official site of the International Phonetic Association, the creators of the IPA.  The site offers an in-depth review of  IPA, with detailed explanations following every character.  View IPA charts, download IPA fonts, and listen to audio examples.
SIL Encore IPA Fonts
This site contains three versions of IPA fonts available for downloading.  Mac and Windows versions available.
The Lied and Art Song Texts Page
First-line index of solo vocal works, with full texts when permissible; browseable by composer or poet.

Video Files

Metropolitan Opera on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
MUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative Resource contains video
a collaborative digital initiative in the form of a video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy and initiated by the New World Symphony
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers

Complete list of current and historic news sources.

Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Vocal Studies Division
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP