All Items by Source Type

Databases

Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
World Federation of International Music Competitions
    A directory of over 120 international music competitions, with additional information about prize winners and commissioned works.


Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

Historic Brass Society
HBS is concerned with the entire range of early brass music, from antiquity through the present.
International Clarinet Association (ICA)
ICA serves the international clarinet community, supporting performance, recording, composition, and other projects.
International Horn Society
The IHS website provides information on membership and programs, as well as directories, audio files, forums, and classified advertising.
International Trombone Association (ITA)
The ITA produces a quarterly journal, presents competitions and an annual festival, publishes trombone sheet music, commissions new trombone music, and more.
International Trumpet Guild (ITG)
Dedicated to promoting communication and improving performance. Website includes news, resources, membership information, and a history of the ITG.
International Tuba Euphonium Association Resource contains audio
The ITEA website offers information on membership, competitions, conferences, and programs. Audio files, pedagogical materials, and player interviews are available to members.
Leonard Falcone International Tuba and Euphonium Festival
An amateur tuban and euphonium festival and competition held annually at the Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp in Twin Lake, Michigan.
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
National Flute Association (NFA)
The NFA website contains information on membership, activities, annual conventions and competitions, and publications. Also includes directories, sections on pedagogy and career development, events listings, and information on the NFA lending library.
National Trumpet Competition
An annual competition held at George Mason University, Fairvax, Virginia. Performances are streamed live from the website.
New Music USA
An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.

Organology

Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection (American Memory Project) Some full text available Resource contains images
Images of more than 1,500 flutes and other wind instruments from the Miller Collection at the Library of Congress. Also includes 33 photographs and illustrations, a 17th-century flageolet tutor, and essays about Miller, his collection, and flutes and flute makers.
Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record
Roderic C. Knight Musical Instrument Collection Resource contains images
Contains images and detailed descriptions of about 200 musical instruments donated from the personal collection of Roderic Knight, OC Professor Emeritus of Ethnomusicology.
Virtual Instrument Museum Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The website of the Wesleyan World Music Collection, containing descriptions, images, and audio and video samples for instruments from the collection.

Primary Sources

Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Repertoire Guides

150 years of Music for Saxophone: Bibliographical Index of Music and Educational Literature for the Saxophone, 1844-1994
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.S247 L62 1994
OBIS record
Annotated Bibliography of Selected, Published Mixed Trios for One Clarinetist and Two Other Musicians
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 H574 1977a
OBIS record
Annotated Guide to Bass Trombone Literature
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.T76E91985
OBIS record
Bassoon Bibliography = Bibliographie du basson = Fagott Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B26 K64 1994
OBIS record
Bibliography of Music for Three Heterogeneous Brass Instruments Alone and in Chamber Ensembles
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.W5D4
OBIS record
Brass Music for the Church; a Bibliography of Music Appropriate for Church Use--a Total of 1309 Works--Including Brass Parts for One Trumpet up to a Twenty-Piece Brass Choir
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B7D496
OBIS record
Catalog of Chamber Music for Wind Instruments
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4 H4 1969
OBIS record
Catalogue of Chamber Music for Oboe 1654-c.1825
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O2 H396
OBIS record
Catalogus van de Nederlandse Fluitliteratuur = Catalogue of Dutch Flute Literature
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7 V474 1988
OBIS record
Clarinet Literature in Outline
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 H355 1984
OBIS record
Clarinet Music from 1700 to 1870
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 O78
OBIS record
Clarinet solos de concours, 1897-1980: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 G43
OBIS record
Die Flötenkonzerte bis 1850: ein thematisches Verzeichnis
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7 G74 1992 vol. 1
OBIS record
Ensemble Music for Wind and Percussion Instruments: a Catalog
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.W5 H4
OBIS record
Euphonium Music Guide
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B24 L7
OBIS record
Fagott Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B26 B85 1989
OBIS record
Flûte Littérature: catalogue général des œuvres éditées et inédites par formations instrumentales = General Catalog of Published and Unpublished Works by Instrumental Category
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7 P537
OBIS record
Flute Music by Women Composers: an Annotated Catalog
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7 B6 1988
OBIS record
Flute Music of the 18th Century: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7V475 1985
OBIS record
French Music for Low Brass Instruments: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B73 T47 1994
OBIS record
Handbook of Literature for the Flute: Compilation of Graded Method Materials, Solos, and Ensemble Music for Flutes
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.F7 P4 1978
OBIS record
Horn Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128 .H67 B8
OBIS record
Hornist's Compendium
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H67 B767
OBIS record
Index of Bassoon Music; Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B25 W54
OBIS record
Index of Clarinet Music
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 W54
OBIS record
Index of Orchestral and Operatic Excerpts for Clarinet
Print Location: ML128 .C58 W37 1990
OBIS record
Index of Saxophone Music
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.S247W5
Obis record 
Kammermusik-Katalog. Ein Verzeichnis von seit 1841 veröffentlichten Kammermusikwerken
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4 A5 1967
OBIS record
Klarinetten-Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 B74
OBIS record
Literature of the Woodwind Quintet
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4P5
OBIS record
Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: a Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O2 H55 1992
OBIS record
Music for Oboe, Oboe d'Amore, and English Horn: a Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O2 G5 1983
OBIS record
Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B26 B43 1990
OBIS record
Musical Literature for the Bassoon; a Compilation of Music for the Bassoon and as an Instrument in Ensemble
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B25R6
OBIS record
Oboen-Bibliographie
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O2 H7 vol. 1
OBIS record
Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
Print Location: Con Ref ML128 .O5 R2 1993
OBIS record
Percussion Ensemble & Solo Literature
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P23 S6 1993
OBIS record
Percussion Work Book
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P23 C68 1993
OBIS record
Percussion: an Annotated Bibliography with Special Emphasis on Contemporary Notation and Performance
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P23 B34 1988
OBIS record
Repertory of the Clarinet
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 O66
OBIS record
Saxophone Soloists and their Music, 1844-1985: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Books ML128.S247 G4 1986
Obis record 
Solo and Ensemble Literature for Percussion
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.P23C652 1972
OBIS record
Solo-Horn und Blasorchester
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.H67 W39 2000
OBIS record
Solo-Posaune und Blasorchester: Verzeichnis von über 750 Solowerken für eine oder mehrere Posaunen und Blasorchester
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.T76 S35 1999
OBIS record
Soloistic English Horn Literature from 1736-1984
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.O2 M3 1994
OBIS record
Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet: an Annotated Bibliography of Published Works
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C58 G54
OBIS record
Teacher's Guide to the Literature of Brass Instruments
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.B7R38
OBIS record
Trombone Chamber Music: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.T76A7
OBIS record
Trombone: an Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.T76 L36 1999
OBIS record
Tuba Music Guide
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.T8 M7
OBIS record
Wind Chamber Music: for Two to Sixteen Winds: an Annotated Guide
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.W5 S43 2002
OBIS record
Wind Chamber Music: Winds with Piano and Woodwind Quintets: an Annotated Guide
Print Location: Con Reference ML128.C4 S43 1996
OBIS record

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Video Files

Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances.

note: Only one user at a time.
medici.tv Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
MUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative Resource contains video
a collaborative digital initiative in the form of a video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy and initiated by the New World Symphony
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

FluteHistory.com Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains information and resources on the transverse flute and flute-playing in Western Europe and America over the past 800 years.
Hornplayer.net
Started in 1996, the site contains a Teachers Database, Section Listings of many ensembles from throughout the world, and an Information Archive gleaned from years of posts on the horn mailing lists.
Trombone Page of the World Resource contains audio
A repository of information, links, and audio.

Trumpet Herald
The Trumpet Herald strives to bring trumpet performers of all ages and skill levels together in a meaningful and constructive way.
Trumpet Player Online (TPO)
A source for news, forums, and links.

Woodwind.org Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A varied source of information for players and teachers of clarinet, flute, oboe, horn, and bassoon. Includes links, discographies, bibliographies, scores and audio files, and classified advertising.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Division of Winds, Brass, and Percussion
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP