.
British Library Sounds Resource contains audio
More than 50,000 selected recordings of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments.
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music includes over 1,200 CDs (7,500 compositions). The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.
Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry Resource contains images Resource contains audio
400 items from the Emile Berliner Papers and 108 Berliner sound recordings, spanning the years 1870-1956. Berliner was responsible for the development of the microphone and the flat recording disc and gramophone player.
Folk Music in America Resource contains audio
Dick Spottswood's 15 LP series of recordings and booklets documenting the American folk song and dance between 1890 and 1976.
 
Glenn Gould Archive Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The archives of concert pianist Glenn Gould. Includes selected audio files, images, bibliography, finding aids, and full-text writings by or about Gould.
Global Music Archive Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A multimedia archive for traditional and popular music and dance of Africa and the Americas, with particular emphasis on the African Diaspora. Includes audio, video, and bibliography.
Historic LP Liner Note Booklets (American Folklife Center) Some full text available Resource contains images
Extensive liner notes ranging from 8 to 60 pages per item. Taken from LPs issued from the 1950s through the 1980s by the Library of Congress, from recordings in the Archive of Folk Song/Archive of Folk Culture/American Folklife Center.
Inventing Entertainment: The Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies (American Memory Project) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Various media related to the Edison Companies. Features 341 motion pictures, 81 sound recordings, and other related materials such as photographs and original magazine articles.
Iowa Sounds: Stradivari Quartet/Iowa String Quartet Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Streaming recordings of the Stradivari Quartet/Iowa String Quartet, a faculty quartet at the University of Iowa from 1960-1996. The collection also includes a documentary about the quartet, produced in 1969.
Irish Traditional Music Archive / Taisce Cheol Dúchais Éireann
A reference library and archives for Irish traditional music and dance, including music from the island of Ireland, Irish settlements abroad, and non-Irish performers of Irish traditional music. The Digital Library includes sound recordings, images, and digitized books and scores from the library's collections.
Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary Digital Collections Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Includes field recordings of Jewish liturgical music from pre-state Israel and Cochin, India; early twentieth-century sheet music from Russia and Central Europe; and Cantorial School theses.
LOUISiana Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photographs and sound recordings pertaining to New Orleans jazz. Includes the Louisiana State Museum's entire collection of images of Louis Armstrong, as well as recordings of jazz musicians active in New Orleans.
MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected  1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available, together with transcriptions of song texts.
National Jukebox (Library of Congress) Resource contains images Resource contains audio
More than 10,000 historical 78-RPM sound recordings by the Victor Records Company, streamed from the Library of Congress. Includes jazz and other popular music, opera, political speeches, novelty recordings, and early sound effects. Create and share playlists or embed Jukebox recordings in your own media.
Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Streaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
Naxos Music Library Jazz Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Renaissance Masses, 1440-1520 Resource contains audio
An online collection of MIDI recordings (without words) of polyphonic Masses composed in Europe, 1440-1520.
Smithsonian Global Sound Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.  The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Virtual Gramophone (Library and Archives Canada) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A discography of Canadian 78-RPM recordings, with selected digitized audio, biographies, historical background, and more.
 
Yamaha Wind Instrument Podcasts Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Video and audio podcast episodes focus on flute, clarinet, oboe, saxophone, trumpet, cornet, trombone, horn, low brass, tuba and drum and bugle corps in the jazz, world music, pop, and classical idioms.
Discographical Resources
Academic Charts Online
DatabaDatabase of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, allows you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions.se of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, allows you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions.

Billboard Music Charts
Current chart data compiled from sales, streaming play, and radio play numbers, including the complete weekly Hot 100 and Billboard 200 charts, the top halves of other current charts, and some historical charts.
 
J. S. Bach Home Page
Portal to BWV catalog, biographical essays, bibliographies, and discographies.
 
Kurt Weill Foundation for Music Some full text available
Promotes understanding of Weill's life and works and preserves the legacies of Weill and Lotte Lenya. Also maintains the principal research collection of Weill materials. The site includes a works catalog, biographies and discographies of Weill and Lenya, and information about grants and prize competitions.
 
OperaGlass
Information about operas, including libretti, synopses and sources, performance histories, and discographies.
 
Sephardic Music: A Century of Recordings Resource contains audio
Discographies, historical background, and some audio recordings of Sephardic music.
 
VIOLA: Suomen kansallisdiskografia (The National Discography of Finland)
The Finnish national discography and bibliography of printed music. It covers sound recordings published since 1901 and printed music published since 1977. VIOLA also contains references to foreign materials in 13 Finnish music library collections. Catalog interface available in Finnish, Swedish, and English.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP