Composer Specific
Aaron Copland Collection, ca. 1900-1990 (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
More than 1,000 items selected from Library of Congress holdings, including manuscript and printed music, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, programs and clippings, photographs, books, and audiovisual materials.
Arnold Schönberg Center Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The main archival repository of Schönberg materials. Includes digitized manuscripts, streaming audio, photographs, biographical information, and more. Search the Database of Works and Sources for links to digitized sketches and manuscripts.
Bach Digital Resource contains images
A digital library of Johann Sebastian Bach's autograph manuscripts and original parts in high-resolution scans, and a catalog of information about all of Bach's works and their written transmission.
Beethoven-Haus Bonn Digital Archives Resource contains images
The digital archives of the Beethoven-Haus contain more than 5,000 facsimiles of music manuscripts, sketches, first editions, letters, and photographs, accompanied by audio files, bibliographies, and historical background.
Brahms-Institut Digitale Bestände Resource contains images
A large online collection of Brahms manuscripts, first and early editions, letters, photographs, and ephemera.
Britten-Pears Foundation Some full text available Resource contains images
The website of the Britten estate and Britten-Pears Library, with articles about Britten's life and works, an online thematic catalog (in progress), bibliography and discography, and guides to the estate's large archival collections.
Carl Maria von Weber Gesamtausgabe Resource contains images
Digital edition of Carl Maria von Weber's works, currently in progress. Includes correspondence, diaries, and other writings, in HTML and XML transcriptions as well as in facsimile (where complete). The site also includes biographical information, an index of works, and indexes of people, places, and works mentioned in the writings.
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: The Complete Works Resource contains images
The website of the C.P.E. Bach Critical Edition, with complete contents of the edition, forms to request performance parts, digital facsimiles of some manuscripts and early editions, and related materials.
Chopin Early Editions (University of Chicago) Resource contains images
Digital images of over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin from the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection.
European Mozart Ways Resource contains images
Interactive maps and timelines examine Mozart's life through his travels. Also includes In Mozart's Words, a four-language, annotated, searchable edition of his letters (in progress).
Felix Mendelssohn at the Library of Congress Resource contains images
Digitized manuscripts and scores from the Library of Congress's significant collection of Mendelssohn materials, with accompanying articles and biographical information.
Fryderyk Chopin Institute Resource contains images
This institute supports research and popularization of knowledge about Chopin’s life and work.  The site contains facsimiles of many of Chopin's works.
Irving Fine Collection (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
A collection documenting the career of Irving Fine through manuscript and printed music, sketchbooks, writings, correspondence, scrapbooks, programs, clippings, and sound recordings. Available online: a selection of photographs, a sketchbook for the woodwind partita and a string quartet, a manuscript score and recording of the String Quartet (1952), and the finding aid for the collection.
Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection Resource contains images
Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century scores, manuscripts, and libretti of operas, ballets, and theatrical works by Jean-Baptiste Lully.
Johan Helmich Roman Collection Resource contains images
Manuscript scores from the Roman Collection at the Music Library of Sweden. Includes autographs or manuscript copies of almost all the extant works of the composer and court Kapellmeister Johan Helmich Roman (1694-1758). Searched or browse by title, thematic catalog number, or shelfmark.
Leonard Bernstein Collection, ca. 1920-1989 (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
Approximately 1,500 selected items documenting the life and work of Leonard Bernstein, including photographs, scripts from the Young People's Concerts and Thursday Evening Previews, over 1,100 pieces of correspondence, and the complete finding aid to the Library of Congress Bernstein collection.
Letters and Documents of W. A. Mozart and His Family
A digital archive of letters and documents from or related to the Mozart family, written between 1740 and 1881. From the holdings of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg.
Mozart's Musical Diary (Turning the Pages, British Library) Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Autograph thematic catalog of Mozart's compositions from February 1784 through December 1791. Includes annotations and musical samples.
Online Chopin Variorum Edition (OCVE) Resource contains images
An online, collaborative edition of Frédéric Chopin's works, built to allow comparative analysis and annotation of manuscripts and early editions.
Saint Donatian Mass Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A recreation, performed by the Cappella Pratensis, of the October 14, 1487, liturgical service at which Obrecht's Saint Donatian Mass was first sung. The website, still in progress, includes audio and video, an annotated copy of the score, and background information.
Schubert Manuskripte Resource contains images
Schubert's musical manuscripts, correspondence, and related documents. From the Austrian National Library and the Vienna City Library.
Woody Guthrie Official Website
The website of the Woody Guthrie Foundation and Archives, with biographical information, song lyrics, publishing information. Also includes finding guides to the world's largest archival collection of Woody Guthrie materials, which includes manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, audio recordings, and more.
19th-Century American Music
19th-Century American Sheet Music Resource contains images
3500 songs and instrumental pieces published in the United States from the 1830s to 1900. Search or browse the collection by composer, lyricist, topic, date, publisher, or publisher location. From the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
19th-Century California Sheet Music (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
2,700 sheet music titles published in California between 1852 and 1900, with related materials such as programs, advertisements, and photographs. Search or browse by composer, genre, topic, cultural group, or subject of the cover illustration. Hosted by the Library of Congress.
African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
1,305 sheet music titles and photographs of performers from Brown University collections. Contents include the music of minstrelsy, abolitionism, emancipation, and the Civil War. Hosted by the Library of Congress.
Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
A collection in the Library of Congress documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln. Includes sheet music and broadsides concerning slavery, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and related topics.
America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
Digitized song sheets (lyrics but no music) from Library of Congress collections spanning the nineteenth century.

Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 (American Memory Project) Resource contains images
More than 3,000 sheet music titles from Duke University. Collection strengths include antebellum Southern music, Confederate imprints, and Civil War songs and music.
 IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana Resource contains images
Over 10,000 digitized sheet music titles by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists. or publishers, as well as music about the state.

Inventions of Note: Sheet Music Collection
Resource contains images
Sheet music that portrays technology in lyrics or cover art.

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music Resource contains images
More than 29,000 sheet music titles published 1790-1980, with special emphasis on nineteeth-century music, music related to wars, and minstrel music. From the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University.

University of Colorado Digital Sheet Music Collection Resource contains images
Sheet music from collections of the Music Library of the University of Colorado, Boulder. Includes music about Colorado, music published by the Ingram Music Company of Denver, piano rags and ragtime songs, and music inspired by the West and westward migration.

Yiddish Sheet Music Resource contains images
A collection of public-domain scores from the John Hay Library of Brown University focusing on Yiddish-language music for the stage. Also includes art songs, folk songs, and sacred music in Yiddish and Hebrew.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Multi-Composer Collections
Ausgabe der Deutschen Händelgesellschaft Resource contains images
Digital scores derived from the German Handel Society's complete-works edition, edited by F. W. Chrysander and published 1858-1894.
Biblioteca Nacional de España Resource contains images
Website and catalog of the National Library of Spain. Includes the Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, a digital collection of thousands of searchable books, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, photographs, maps, and atlases from the 15th through 19th centuries.
Boije Collection Resource contains images
Digital facsimiles of early 19th century printed and manuscript guitar music, collected by Carl Oscar Boije af Gennäs (1849-1923), and maintained at the Music Library of Sweden.
note: Digital facsimiles of early 19th century printed and manuscript guitar music, collected by Carl Oscar Boije af Gennäs (1849-1923), and maintained at the Music Library of Sweden.
Choral Public Domain Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Free choral and vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
Classical String Quartets, 1770-1840
Digitized string quartet parts from rare or unique publications. Includes compositions by Mozart, Pleyel, Spohr, Fesca, Rossini, Weber, and others. From the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Duke University.
Digital Greek Music Archive (DIGMA) Resource contains images
More than 260,000 digitzed documents related to Greek music, including the digitized archives of the composers Mikis Theodorakis, Εmilios Riadis, George Poniridis, and Frank Choisy, the Nileas Kamarados Archive, and Greek songs.
Digital Scores and Libretti Collection Resource contains images
Rare or unique scores and libretti from the collections of the Loeb Music Library, Harvard Universiy, including first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the 18th, 19th, and early-20th centuries.
Early Music Online Resource contains images
Early Music Online contains more than 300 volumes of 16th-century music from the British Library.
 e-codices (Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland) Resource contains video
A virtual library of medieval manuscripts in Switzerland. Complete digital reproductions of the manuscripts are linked with corresponding scholarly descriptions. Contains nearly 1,000 manuscripts from more than 40 libraries, with a goal of making digitizing all medieval and selected early-modern manuscripts in Switzerland.

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project Resource contains images Resource contains audio
More than 200,000 scores and nearly 20,000 recordings, all freely available in the public domain.
International Guitar Research Archive Resource contains images
One of the world’s largest collections of guitar sheet music. Also collects periodicals, recordings, and other materials related to the guitar. Scores from the C. C. Easley Microfilm Collection are available online.
International Harp Archives Resource contains images
A selection of more than 1,000 scores from the International Harp Archives at Brigham Young University. Repertory ranges from the 18th century through 1922.
 
Oregon Music Collection
Resource contains images
Digital scores from the the Oregon Music Collection and the Women Composers Collection at the University of Oregon, available as PDFs.
Sheet Music From Canada's Past Resource contains images
Sheet music by Canadians or about Canada, selected from the collections of the Library and Archives Canada.
Charles Templeton Sheet Music Collection Resource contains images
Digital scores from the Charles H. Templeton, Sr., Music Museum. Special focus of ragtime, blues, movie tunes, foxtrots, popular music, show tunes, Irving Berlin, and war songs. Music published after 1923 is cataloged but generally unavailable online.
 VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores Resource contains images
Digitized public-domain scores from the collections of the Cook Music Library, Indiana University.
Virtual Music Rare Book Room (University of North Texas) Resource contains images
A collection of digital scores from the University of North Texas Music Library, notable for its 18th-century French opera but also containing works from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music Resource contains images
New peer-reviewed editions, with commentary, of previously unpublished or commercially unavailable scores of 17th-century compositions.
Back to TOP