MathSciNet
Access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part. List of journals indexed.
Dates of Coverage: 1940-
Dates of Coverage: 1940-
Background & Context Sources
Biographical Sources
Continuing Education & Careers
Databases
Dictionaries & Thesauri
Biographical Sources
Continuing Education & Careers
Databases
Dictionaries & Thesauri
History of Mathematics
Comprehensive history of mathematics. Incluldes links to other relevant websites.
Comprehensive history of mathematics. Incluldes links to other relevant websites.
History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Print Location: Main Reference Q125 .H6298 2002 vols. 1-4
OBIS record
Print Location: Main Reference Q125 .H6298 2002 vols. 1-4
OBIS record
Biographical Encyclopedia of Mathematicians
Print Location: Main Reference QA28 .B544 1999 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Print Location: Main Reference QA28 .B544 1999 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Mathematics Genealogy Project
The MGP attempts to compile information about all the mathematicians of the world.
The MGP attempts to compile information about all the mathematicians of the world.
Notable Women in Mathematics: a biographical dictionary
Print Location: Main Reference QA28 .N68 1998
OBIS record
Print Location: Main Reference QA28 .N68 1998
OBIS record
Continuing Education & Careers
GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.
Inspec, 1969-present
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn. The library is investigating alternative modes of access.
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn. The library is investigating alternative modes of access.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part. List of journals indexed.
Dates of Coverage: 1940-
Dates of Coverage: 1940-
Web of Knowledge
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.
Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.
Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics, 4th ed.
Print Location: 1 copy being processed for Main Reference.
OBIS record
Print Location: 1 copy being processed for Main Reference.
OBIS record
Access Science

Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.
OBIS record for print edition. Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007 vols.1-20
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.
OBIS record for print edition. Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007 vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Eric Weisstein's World of Science

Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.
Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics
Print Location: Main Reference QA164 .H36 2000
OBIS record
Print Location: Main Reference QA164 .H36 2000
OBIS record
Handbook of Mathematical, Scientific, and Engineering Formulas, Tables, Functions, Graphs, Transforms
Print Location: Main Reference QA40.H357 1988
OBIS record
Print Location: Main Reference QA40.H357 1988
OBIS record
American Mathematical Society Publications 
The journals published by the AMS, including the Bulletin of the AMS, the Journal of the AMS and the Transactions of the AMS.
The journals published by the AMS, including the Bulletin of the AMS, the Journal of the AMS and the Transactions of the AMS.
Institute for Mathematical Sciences Preprint Server 
Online mathical preprints from the Institute of Mathematical Sciences.
Online mathical preprints from the Institute of Mathematical Sciences.
Distributed Digital Library of Mathematical Monographs 
Collections from the University of Michigan, Cornell and Göttingen.
Collections from the University of Michigan, Cornell and Göttingen.
Historical Math Monographs 
Electronic versions of historic math books from the Cornell University Library.
Electronic versions of historic math books from the Cornell University Library.
MathDL
A mathematical sciences digital library maintained by the Mathematical Association of America.
A mathematical sciences digital library maintained by the Mathematical Association of America.
vifamath: The Virtual Library of Mathematics
Search for literature in libraries, online articles, and more.
European Mathematical Information Service (EMIS)
Electronic resources for mathematicians hosted by the European Mathematical Society.
Guide to LaTeX & Typesetting
Links to templates, guides, and software for using LaTeX to write scientific documents. Also includes links to other tools that typeset mathematical equations.
Links to templates, guides, and software for using LaTeX to write scientific documents. Also includes links to other tools that typeset mathematical equations.
RefWorks
Bibliographic management software; an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
note: Oberlin College affiliated users only.
Bibliographic management software; an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
note: Oberlin College affiliated users only.
Wolfram Alpha

A computational knowledge search engine. Wolfram Alpha will compute mathematical equations.
Math Forum @ Drexel
An online resource for improving math learning, teaching and communication. Offers problems and puzzles, online mentoring, research, and more.
An online resource for improving math learning, teaching and communication. Offers problems and puzzles, online mentoring, research, and more.
Metamath Home Page
Mathematical web guide. Includes the Proof Explorer, the Quantum Logic Explorer, images for math symbols, and more.
Mathematical web guide. Includes the Proof Explorer, the Quantum Logic Explorer, images for math symbols, and more.
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hoursEmail us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment
Loading ...
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.