Allen Memorial Art Museum (AMAM)
See our AMAM web guide for information about:
  • Catalogs of the AMAM collection
  • Locating AMAM publications in OBIS
  • Searching the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin In Art Full Text (1984 - present) & Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)

All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

Atlas of Medieval Europe
Print Location: Art Library & Main Oversize CB351.M293 1983 Resource contains images
OBIS record
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Resource contains images
Online historical map collection with over 25,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Historical Maps Resource contains images
Collection of historic maps which have been digitized by the University of Texas at Austin. The maps are listed by place name.
Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe Resource contains images
The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe shows the political situation in Europe at the end of each century (from AD 1 to AD 2000). Taken together it offers the political evolution of Europe over the past 2,000 years. The high resolution pages include detailed views of the states, provinces and cities. Download the special viewer software (called Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe) for magnification from 600% to 1000%.

Background & Context Sources

Making of the Middle Ages
Print Location: Main 940.1 So88M c.1-4
Classic description of medieval civilization from c. 900 to c. 1200. A little earlier than our period, but still relevant, especially the final chapter "From Epic to Romance."
OBIS record
Medieval Europe: A Short History
Print Location: Main D117.H6 1994 c.1-2
Lively text, with suggested further readings.
OBIS record
Waning of the Middle Ages: A Study of the Forms of Life, Thought and Art in France and the Netherlands in the XIVth and XVth Centuries
Print Location: Main DC33.2.H83 1954 c.1, 3
The classic work on its period. A bit dated, but packed with information and well-written.
OBIS record

Databases

Art Full Text (1984 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Art Full Text
- Articles from 350 art magazines & journals
-  Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide
- Index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin

Art Full Text (1984 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Art Index Retrospective
 (1929-1984)

- Articles rom 350 art magazines & journals
- Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide
- Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
- Hundreds of thousands of images for teaching & researching art
- Global coverage

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
North American & European art from late Christian - present
Over 1,200+ journals published from 1975 - 2007; no full-text

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613, the beginning of the Romanov dynasty, because the sixteenth century is still medieval in social and political terms. The geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans traveled. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications in English, French, German, and Spanish are currently being indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Index of Christian Art Restricted Resource
Index of Christian Art records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.
International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
index to journal articles, conference proceedings, collected essays, and exhibition catalogues published world-wide
- Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa
- Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases.
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies resources on the Web.. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus allow combinations of specific subject categories with types of digital documents. The resulting list of relevant “hits” then provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on servers around the world. This easy to use system is a vast improvement over the “lists of lists” common on other “webliographies.”

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Print Location: Art Reference BR 1710 .F34 1982
This dictionary provides detailed, short entries, which include bibliographic references. Its focus is primarily British saints. Please note: the 4th edition (1997) is also available as an e-book.
OBIS record

Directories

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
A database of links to thousands of web sites that can be searched (both simple and advanced) or browsed.  Has a lengthy glossary (over 1,500 terms) and news of interest to medievalists.

Encyclopedias

Anchor Bible
Print Location: Main BS192.2.A1 1964 .G3 vols. 1-5
A massive annotated edition of the Bible, with one or two volumes for each book.  If you are particularly interested in a biblical passage and want to find what earlier writers have had to say about it, this is a good place to start your search.
OBIS record
Bible and the Saints
Print Location: Art Reference BS513.2 .D8313 1994
An illustrated dictionary of saints, biblical figures, and scenes from the Old and New Testaments. The symbolic meaning of certain plants, animals, religious objects and offices, as well as allegorical personifications are included. Entries are arranged alphabetically, starting with variations in major European languages, relevant dates, a description of important events or traditions associated with the item, a tracing of iconographic representations and, finally, a list of attributes, cross-references, and bibliographies. A list of "Attributes and their Associated Figures" finish the work.
OBIS record
Dictionary of the Bible
Print Location: Main BS440.M36 1965a
A good one-volume guide to any questions you may have about     the Bible.  Entries include books (i.e. Psalms, Gospel of Mark), individuals (David, Peter) and a wide range of other topics (i.e.  Music, Shepherds, Blindness).
OBIS record

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: Main D 114 .D45 1982 vol. 1 – 10
Multi-volume guide to all things medieval, with a good index and bibliography for individual entries.
OBIS record
Enciclopedia dell'Arte Medievale
Print Location: Art N5965 .E5 1993 vol. 1-10
The entries provide useful overviews on a wide variety of topics and are signed.  Each entry is followed by a detailed bibliography and many high-quality images (primarily in color), including plans.  Prefatory material also includes an introduction and a section for abbreviations.  Complemented by Kibler and Zinn's more concise Medieval France: An Encyclopedia (Art Ref. DC 33.2 .M44 1995)
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe [electronic resource]: Society in Transformation Restricted Resource
The people and places important for understanding the early Middle Ages.
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

- Most comprehensive art & architecture encyclopedia available in English
- Global: country by country surveys of important artists, architects, media, cities, movements, periods, etc. from pre-history to the present
- Artists, architects,  styles, religions, philosophies, and theories
- Fine art, architecture, new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.
- Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art dictionaries / encyclopedias that may be searched separately or simultaneously


note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Some full text available
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook lists hundreds of documents important for studying the middle ages.
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs
Print Location: Main GR 35 .M43 2000 vol. 1-2.
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Main Ref. & Art Ref. DC33.2.M44 1995
This single-volume, interdisciplinary publication, presents relatively short, yet in-depth, entries on a wide variety of topics and individuals. Particularly strong in the visual arts and architecture, the signed articles include bibliographies.  The text is enhanced by maps and plates.  Useful supplementary sections include abbreviations; kings, courts, dukes; popes; architectural terms; musical terms; contributors; and an index.
OBIS record
ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
The ORB is a collection of resources written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. It was last updated in 2004. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.   Especially useful is The ORB Encyclopedia,a chronological and geographical index of essays, bibliographies, images, documents, links, and other resources, selected by ORB section editors to illustrate their selected topics.
Designed for a new graduate student, What Every Medievalist Should Know lists basic tools and concepts for studying the Middle Ages.  The ORB Textbook Library, "written by experienced scholar-teachers," is useful for establishing context, dates, geography as well as basic information about people, places and things.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium Restricted Resource
Print Location: Main DF521.O93 1991 vols. 1-3


Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts
Print Location: Art & Main Spec. Coll. ND2889 .B76 1994
OBIS record

Handbooks & Guides

Early Netherlandish Painting
Print Location: Art 759.949.3F913AE vol. 1 c.2-vol. 9 pt. 1
OBIS record
From VanEyck to Bruegel
Print Location: Art ND669.F5 M47 1998 c.1-2
OBIS record
How to Distinguish the Saints in Art by their costumes, symbols, and attributes, by Major Arthur de Bles ... more than 400 illustrations
Print Location: Art N8080.B5 c.1-2
OBIS record
Medieval Iconography: A Research Guide
Print Location: Art Z5933 .F75 1998
An annotated bibliography listing reference works and scholarly studies dealing with Medieval iconography.
OBIS record
Medieval Manuscript Manual
Print Location: Art Z 5933 .F75 1998
Covers patronage, materials and techniques, structure and arrangement, typology, illumination, and has a glossary.
OBIS record

Ocelli Nominum: Names and Shelf Marks of Famous/Familiar Manuscripts
Print Location: Art Reference Z 6601 .F58 1992
The shelf marks of manuscripts are notoriously idiosyncratic, though important since they are often used in scholarly literature. Popular names are also used, so it can be necessary to verify that a popular name and a shelf mark stand for the same work, especially when using multiple sources. Unfortunately there was little recourse for the beginning researcher to resolve this simple but potentially vexing problem until the publication of this text. This handbook can also be used to learn the location of manuscripts at the time of publication.
OBIS record

Iconography

Images

Primary Sources

Art of the Byzantine Empire 312-1453 : sources and documents
Print Location: Art N6250.A72 1986 C.1-3
OBIS record
Butler's Lives of the Saints
Print Location: Main BX4654 .B8 1995 vols. 1-10
This standard reference includes bibliographies and footnotes.
OBIS record
CELT: The Corpus of Electronic Texts
A searchable online textbase consisting of 1160 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts.
Douay-Rheims Bible
The Douay-Rheims Bible is the English translation closest to the Vulgate -- Jerome's Latin translation of the Bible -- which was used throughout the Middle Ages.
Early Medieval Art, 300-1150: Sources and Documents
Print Location: Art N5975.D3 1986 c.1-2
OBIS record
Gothic Art 1140-c. 1450: Sources and Documents.
Print Location: Art N6310.F7 1987 c.1-4
OBIS record
Medieval Hagiography: An Anthology
Print Location: Main BR1710 .M39 2000
Primary texts in translation, each with an introductory essay, notes, and bibliography.
OBIS record

Meditations on the Life of Christ
A late medieval text with pictures which provides an excellent example of contemporary devotional attention to the events of Christ's life.
Meditations on the Life of Christ
Print Location: Art BT300.B7 1961
Middle Ages and the Renaissance (Documentary History of Art, v. 1)
Print Location: Art 709 H742L.2 vol. 1
OBIS record
Vite De' Più Eccellenti Architetti, Pittori et Scultori Italiani
Print Location: Art N6922.V3 1966 vols. 1-6, commento vols. 1-2
A recent, major edition of what is often considered the first history of art.  The famous Milanesi edition is also available (Art N 6922 .V3 1906) as are several unabridged and abridged English language editions.  One of the first art historians, Giorgio Vasari, discussed 250 artists in this publication, originally published in 1568.  Covers Cimabue to Michelangelo.
Back to TOP