All Items by Source Type

Continuing Education & Careers

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges
Resources and information on pursuing a career in veterinary medicine.
Avicenna Directory for medicine
Directory of the world's medical schools. 
 
GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Midwifery Education Programs
Search midwifery programs by geographic location; plus much more from the American College of Nurse-Midwives. All programs are accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education.
Nursing Program Search
From the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. 
PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Data

Data.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.
World Health Statistics Some full text available
Data from the 193 World Health Organization (WHO) member states.  Download sections in pdf.  For more detail on any specific country, consult the Global Health Observatory (GHO).

Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information Restricted Resource

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; independent source for drug information written in lay language. Includes patient instructions, drug interactions, dietary restrictions, precautions, and common side effects.  First published 1978.


Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science) Restricted Resource
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature.  Includes Biological Abstracts.  Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexing and full text coverage for journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health.

Dates of Coverage: 1937-


Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine Some full text available
A cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). 
Health Source: Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text for consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and drug monographs.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full text journals in nursing, allied health, drug monographs, plus access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  

HighWire Publishing Some full text available Resource contains images
An ePublishing platform from Stanford University. Offers 1705+ journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Restricted Resource
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials
Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
MedicLatina Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.  Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
The most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., plus National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
Natural & Alternative Treatments Restricted Resource Some full text available
Evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, books.
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to date
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present


PubMed
MEDLINE (24 million citations in biomedical literature) plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Archive of open access biomedical and life sciences journals. 
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 

Dictionaries & Thesauri

MedTerms
An online medical dictionary sponsored by MedicineNet.com.
Oxford Reference: Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes medical dictionaries, Oxford Companions, and other Oxford University Press reference sources.

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Cancer, 2nd ed. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides definitions of common acronyms and terms, as well as essays on syndromes, genes and molecules, and processes and methods.
note: electronic book
Encyclopedia of Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
With entries for specific diseases and conditions, geographical areas, health issues, biographical information, and organizations.
note: electronic book
Infectious Diseases: In Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covering the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases.
note: electronic book
Toxipedia
A free toxicology encyclopedia offering articles and resources about toxic chemicals, health conditions, ethical considerations, and more.

Government Information

AIDSinfo
Information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and research.
ASTDR Toxicological Profiles
Toxic substances information from the Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Part of the Department of Health and Human Services.
Healthfinder
A service of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Includes health information and resources from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
The most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., plus National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library.
Nutrition.gov
Online access to government information on food and human nutrition.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Archive of open access biomedical and life sciences journals. 

Health & Safety Information

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Supplements & Herbal Information
Medical info explained in an easy-to-understand manner, produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Images

Anatomy Atlases Resource contains images
A digital library of anatomy information.
Atlas of the Human Body Resource contains images
Provided by the American Medical Association (AMA).

Journals

BioMed Central Some full text available
Publisher of more than 250 peer-reviewed open access journals.
Biomedical Beat Some full text available
A monthly digest of research news from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences. 
Free Medical Journals Some full text available
Listing of medical and health science journals with free full-text access.
JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
Abstracts are available online, but the full text of most articles is not. The print edition of JAMA is available at the Science Library (OBIS record).
JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
Lancet Restricted Resource Some full text available
 
PLoS Biology Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 
PLoS Medicine Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 

Organizations & Associations

Statistics

State Health Facts Online
Kaiser Family Foundation resource for state health data.

Web Sites

AllRefer Health
Includes a medical encyclopedia, information on diseases and conditions, a symptoms guide, and more. 
DisabilityResources.org
A guide to disability resources on the internet.
DrugWatch.com
Includes information about research, clinical trials, drug recalls, and FDA warnings.
Mayo Clinic Health Informaion
Includes information on diseases, symptoms, drugs, and tests from physicians and scientists.
MedScape
Medical information and educational tools for health professionals. From WebMD.
note: requires free registration
Merck
Includes older editions of the Merck Index and and the Merck Manual online.
OncoLink
Cancer information and resources from the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
UI Health Library
Patient and consumer health information.
WebMD
Health information and reference materials for the public.
Find Journal Articles

Search PubMed

(public version of MEDLINE) : the most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., at the National Library of Medicine site, or as part of SciFinder or Web of Science:

Web of Science

Search Web of Science™
   

Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters   

Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Contact
This guide is maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP