Databases- Articles
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

Index Islamicus Restricted Resource
Includes scholarship from various disciplines written about the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim populations across the globe. Dates of Coverage: 1906 to date

Index to Jewish Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.  Covers Jewish and Middle Eastern culture, literature, history, politics, religion, and other areas of study. Dates of Coverage: 1988 to date

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes research, policy, and scholarly publications on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.  Subject coverage includes political and economic affairs, law, international relations, business, the arts, society, anthropology, religion, and history. Dates of coverage:  1900 and earlier to date

PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date


RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Unrestricted Resource
Includes scholarly articles in all disciplines from journals and collections of articles in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and many European languages.  Covers the various fields of Jewish studies and the study of the Southern Levant (roughly Israel, Palestinian territories, Jordan, and parts of Lebanon). Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--
Databases- News
Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
Databases- Statistical
Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ public opinion surveys by 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.Dates of coverage:  1986 - present


ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World Restricted Resource Some full text available
Digital access to many countries' published statistical abstracts, including some global and regional statistical compedia.  Includes social, economic and political statistics. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format or as PDF files.
Digital Collections- Primary sources
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library Unrestricted Resource
This digital collection has approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts.

King Crane Commission Unrestricted Resource
During the summer of 1919, a delegation under the leadership of Oberlin College President Henry Churchill King and Chicago businessman Charles R. Crane travelled to areas of the former Ottoman territories. Their mission was to determine the wishes of the people of the region as their future was being determined by the major powers at the Paris Peace Conference. The King-Crane Commission, as it became known, met delegations and invited written petitions from various religious and political groups. This digital collection unifies the archival records of Commission members for the first time. It also includes resources on conducting research in the collection.

Qatar Digital Library
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs in both English and Arabic.
Research help
Reference Resources- (Background)
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts.

The Cambridge encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa DS44.C37 1988
Detailed account in one volume of all aspects of North Africa and the Middle East including history and geography, people, societies and economies, culture and interstate relations, and events of international political importance of the region.

The Encyclopaedia of Islam
A comprehensive encyclopedia with broad coverage of Islamic religious study as well as peoples, cultures and the countries in which they live.

The encyclopedia of Middle East wars: the United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq conflicts
Provides a comprehensive study of U.S. involvement in the modern Middle East and carefully weighs the interplay of domestic, cultural, religious, diplomatic, international, and military events in one of the world's most troubled regions.

Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East Main Reference GN645 .E53 2009
A reference to the history and culture of the various peoples of Africa and the Middle East. from ancient to modern times. Contains summaries of histories, migrations, cultures, belief systems, social organizations, and interrelationships.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes Qur'anic studies resources, including two translations of the Qur\'an, a concordance, primary source documents with editorial introductions, timelines, and images. 
Digital Collections- Visual Images
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
Back to TOP