See our AMAM web guide for information about:
- Catalogs of the AMAM collection
- Locating AMAM publications in OBIS
- Searching the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin In Art Full Text (1984 - present) & Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals and popular magazines on many subjects
Art Full Text (1984 - current)
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (no full-text)
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (no full-text)
o Articles from 350 art magazines & journals
o Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide,
o Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide,
o Index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Arts in America: A Bibliography
Art Z 5961 .U5 A77 vols. 1-4
o Colonial to mid-1970s
o Most comprehensive bibliography available (digital or print)
o Colonial to mid-1970s
o Most comprehensive bibliography available (digital or print)
Contemporary Artist's Index (Gund Library, Cleveland Institute of Art)
o 1991 - present
o Lists artists in all group show exhibtion catalogs in the Gund lbrary
o Has Gund Library call numbers; use OBIS to find Oberlin's copy
o 1991 - present
o Lists artists in all group show exhibtion catalogs in the Gund lbrary
o Has Gund Library call numbers; use OBIS to find Oberlin's copy
ARTbibliographies MODERN
o Late 19th c. through the 21st art
o Articles in art journals and exhibition catalogs
o Late 19th c. through the 21st art
o Articles in art journals and exhibition catalogs
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
o North American & European art from late Christian - present
o Over 1,200+ journals published from 1975 - 2007; no full-text
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
Print: Art Ref. Z 5937 .S38 1999 vol.1-2
Comprehensive indexing of US 19thc art journals
Comprehensive indexing of US 19thc art journals
JSTOR

o Search full-text articles in core scholarly journalso An archive: most titles exclude current issues
o Search full-text articles in core scholarly journalso An archive: most titles exclude current issues
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
Painting, sculpture, and graphic art
All major movements and styles
Art schools, galleries, exhibitions, prizes, techniques
Artists, collectors, critics, dealers and patrons
Painting, sculpture, and graphic art
All major movements and styles
Art schools, galleries, exhibitions, prizes, techniques
Artists, collectors, critics, dealers and patrons
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Photography
Art Reference TR9 .H25 2008 vols. 1-2
Art Reference TR9 .H25 2008 vols. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Photography
Art Reference TR642 .E5 2006 vol. 1-3
o Technical information, photographers and influential figuresArt Reference TR642 .E5 2006 vol. 1-3
o 19th century to the present
Oxford Art Online
Search four encyclopedias separately or together:
1. Grove Art Online Most comprehensive art & architecture encyclopedia available in English:
2. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Search four encyclopedias separately or together:
1. Grove Art Online Most comprehensive art & architecture encyclopedia available in English:
o Global: country by country surveys
o Pre-history to the present o All media (architecture, new media, jewelry, performance, prints, wood, metal, ceramics, etc.)
"Photography" entry in Grove Art Online 2. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
o Essays about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts
o Fine Arts, Literature, Music, Theater, Dance, Television, Film, and Popular culture
3. Oxford Companion to Western Art
3. Oxford Companion to Western Art
o Ancient to the 20th century
o Artists, styles, movements, art forms, art terms, and the
4. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN) - For alternate names and spellings
Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - For place names and their variants
Timeline of Art History - Includes images
Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - For place names and their variants
Timeline of Art History - Includes images
American Suburb X
"Started in 2008, AMERICAN SUBURB X / ASX is an ever-growing archive and fiercely edited look at photography’s always relevant past, rapidly shifting present and dramatically unfolding future." [fr. the website 30Nov’12]
"Started in 2008, AMERICAN SUBURB X / ASX is an ever-growing archive and fiercely edited look at photography’s always relevant past, rapidly shifting present and dramatically unfolding future." [fr. the website 30Nov’12]
Archivegrid
o Almost a million collections housed in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives
o Contact the institutions to order copies or arrange a visit
Conceptual Art: A Critical Anthology
Art N 6494.C63 C597 1999
OBIS Record
o Lists art sold at auction, in museum object files and listed in archival records
o No full-text
o Primarily European paintings
Art N 6494.C63 C597 1999
OBIS Record
o Lists art sold at auction, in museum object files and listed in archival records
o No full-text
o Primarily European paintings
Twentieth-century artists on art: an index to writings, statements, and interviews by artists, architects, and designers
Art NX 456 .R59 1996
Art NX 456 .R59 1996
o Writings, statements, poems, etc. of 5,000 artists are listed in Robertson’s index
o Indexes books, journals, magazines, & exhibition catalogs through 1983
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
o Primary repository for personal papers of American artists, collectors, dealers, curators and art historians
o A small selection of important collections are digitized
o Primary repository for personal papers of American artists, collectors, dealers, curators and art historians
o A small selection of important collections are digitized
Art in Theory: an Anthology of Changing Ideas
Art N 6450 .A779 1998 (1815-1900) & N 6490 .A7167 2003 (1900-2000)
OBIS record
WAAND / Women Artists Archives National Directory Art N 6450 .A779 1998 (1815-1900) & N 6490 .A7167 2003 (1900-2000)
OBIS record
o Identifies & describes archival material about U.S. women artists active after 1945 as well as their organizations, collectives, publications, alternative spaces, and artists' communities.
o Contact information for each archive / repository provided
Detroit Institute of Arts Research Library & Archives -- Digitized exhibition catalogues
Regional Art Resources
Writing resources for Art History
Regional Art Resources
Writing resources for Art History