Background & Context
A history of art in 20th century China. By Lü Peng Art Library, N 7345 .L813 2010
Traces the development of Chinese art in the last century not only in mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong but also in important art centers like Paris and Tokyo.  (Milano: Charta, 2010).

 
Bibliographies & Databases
Bibliographies
Bibliography of Contemporary Chinese Art. by Britta Erickson. (Last updatde 2003.)

Visual Arts Bibliography: Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (MCLC) Resource Center
"The MCLC Resource Center bibliographies consist of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film and media studies, visual arts, music, education, and related online resources."  (from the website; located at Ohio State Univ.)

Databases
Art Full Text (1984 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date.  For earlier dates search its companion database Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.  
 
- Covers late 19th c. through the 21st art
- Articles in art journals and exhibition catalogs
 
- English language articles re: East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide
- All subjects; particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences
- Very broad subject headings can make searching a challenge
Biography
Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China.
Art Lib., N 7345 .S79 1996 c.1-2
800+ brief biographies
OBIS record

China Art Book Art Ref. N7345.6 .C47 2007
"The 80 most renowned Chinese artists"   OBIS record
 
China Art Now. 
Art Library, N 7345.6 .N87 2004.  OBIS record 
 
An Index-DIctionary of Chinese Artists and Collectors, Connoisseurs... . 
Art Library Reference, N 7348.S48 1988
T'ang Dynasty to mid-20th c.; Indexes alternate names

Modern Chinese Artists: A Biographical Dictionary Art Library Reference, N 7348 .S85 2006
1,380 artists both well-known in China and represented in museums, collections and auctions worldwide.  OBIS record 
 
The Winking Owl: Art in the People's Republic of China.
Art Library., N 7345.L35 1988. OBIS record  
Mao & the Chinese Communists period (1950s - 1970s). See "biographical notices" on artists at the end. 
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Buddhism
Art Ref.,. N 8193 .L6813 1995
Buddhist iconography and symbolism
Arranged in narrative chapters; use the index to locate specific terms
 
(Part of Oxford Art Online)
Concise and comprehensive overview of the art of China
Essays on significant modern artists and movements, with bibliographies
Exhibitions & related websites
Century in Crisis Exhibition (1998)
Read the catalog online


China: 5,000 Years. Huntington Archive, Ohio State University:
     "Modernist Generations (1920-1950)"
     "Art for a New China (1950-1980)"

 
Help!
  • Make a research appointment with the Art Librarian, Barb Prior.
  • Make a research appointment with the East Asian Studies Librarian, Runxiao Zhu (440-775-5116; runxiao.zhu@oberlin.edu)
  • Chat with an Oberlin College librarian
  • Review our Research Guides
  • Researching an object in the Allen Museum? See our AMAM research guide.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Images
Broad coverage of art from China including over 15,300 paintings; includes images from the Huntingon Archive (Ohio State University)
 
An overview from late 19th c – 2000 documenting both political images and advertising. 
 
Index to reproductions of paintings by twentieth century Chinese artists.  Art Library Reference, ND 1045 .L35 1984  
Covers 3,500 “traditional style artists” active from roughly 1912 – 1980. Provides citations to reproductions of their works, as well as brief biographies, variant names, dates, etc.
Journals
Art Asia Pacific
Explores and documents the contemporary arts of the Asia and Pacific region. Includes commentary, exhibition reviews, essays, and auction reports.  

Art Radar Asia: Contemporary art trends and news from Asia
 
Artforum international (a.k.a. Artforum)
- Selected articles available online
- Print edition in the Art Library from June 1962 (v.1) - present
 
An archive; Most titles lack entries from the past 2-5 years

Yishu: journal of contemporary Chinese art Art Periodicals
Includes artist features, interviews, reviews and conference transcripts, providing updated information and critiques on contemporary Chinese art for collectors, scholars, professionals and art lovers around the World.
Primary sources
Asian Art Archive
* 20th and 21st century art * China, Taiwan and Macao * Lists exhibition catalogues, monographs, books, periodicals, leaflets, invitations, clippings, DVDS, CD-ROMS and videos * One of the most comprehensive catalogs of modern & contemporary art

1980-1990
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art from 1980-1990.
A project of the Asia Art Archive, Materials of the Future gathers primary materials (in print and other media, and via interviews conducted by project staff) to document art in China from 1980 to 1990. The most significant materials have been published on the project website. 

The Cultural Revolution
Chinese Pamphlets (1947-1954): Political communication and mass education.
Morning Sun. (Cultural Revolution Movie)
Posters of the Cultural Revolution (Huntington Archive, OSU)
Searching OBIS
Examples of relevant subject headings (see below). Combine woth keyword for best restuls. More about keyword searching.  See also tips for advanced keyword searching

China
Art, Chinese

Art, Modern
Modernism (Art)
Art, Modern -- 20th century
Art, Modern --21st century

OBIS
Sample list of contemporary exhibition catalogs, books and collections in OBIS. Found with the following keyword search:
((d:art or d:painting) and d:china and d:21st century)
Back to TOP