All Items by Source Type

Almanacs & Yearbooks

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource
Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, c2008

Biographical Sources

Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: from Confucius to Dewey
Print Location: Main Library LB17 .F56 2001

Databases

Education Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available

Indexes articles from education journals and books. Topics include teaching methods, multicultural/ethnic education, alternative and comparative education, testing, policy issues, teacher evaluation, school administration, higher education, and more. Selective access to full-text articles from about 350 journals.

Dates of coverage:  1983 to date


Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes journal articles, books, and conference papers covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all areas including curriculum, administration, policy, funding, testing, and related social issues. Indexes over 1,500 journals, with full text for more than 750 journals.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The world's largest source of education information, with indexing and detailed descriptions of over 1.4 million journal articles, books, documents, research reports, surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, program overviews, conference papers, and other resource materials.  All areas of education research and practice are included. Many items include full text. Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of Education.

Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date
Music Index Online Restricted Resource
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Music Industry Data Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Digital Scores

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project Resource contains images Resource contains audio
More than 200,000 scores and nearly 20,000 recordings, all freely available in the public domain.
Neue Mozart Ausgabe Online Resource contains images
Displays the full contents of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, including critical commentary. A project of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and the Packard Humanities Institute.

Directories

Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Main Reference LB15 .E47 2003 (8 vols.)


Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Library Catalogs

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

Evan Tobias: Catalysts & Connections
"This blog attempts to continue and expand dialogue of issues that relate to music education. It attempts to cross interdisciplinary boundaries and make connections both within and outside the field of music education as well as serve as a medium for personal reflection on the various issues and ideas discussed.
Home: Society for Education, Music and Psychology Research (Sempre)
The Society for Education, Music and Psychology Research (Sempre) was founded in 1972.  Originally known as the 'Society for Research in Psychology of Music and Music Education' ('SRPMME'), Sempre remains the only society which embraces research in both music education and music psychology.
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
A national association of music teachers with nearly 22,000 members and more than 500 local affiliates. Sponsors competitions, professional certification, and financial assistance programs.
Organization of American Kodály Educators
The mission of the Organization of American Kodály Educators is to enrich
the quality of life of the people of the USA through music education
by promoting the philosophy of Zoltán Kodály.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record

Primary Sources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Software & Web Tools

Partifi
A free, automated tool for creating parts from existing music scores. Upload a PDF or import from IMSLP, then adjust the optically generated staff divisions to extract parts.

Video Files

medici.tv Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

Association for Cultural Equity Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Founded by Alan Lomax to explore and preserve the world's expressive traditions and cultural practices. Dedicated to ensuring that children learn about the oral traditions of their families and localities.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

News & Newspapers
Complete list of current and historic news sources.
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Back to TOP