All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

BrainWeb & Brain Information
Information on more than 30 common brain diseases and disorders, plus links to validated sites and outside resources reviewed by scientific advisors and offers articles published by the Dana Foundation.  

Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Neuroscience Education
Information, courses, and other resources for neuroscience education.
PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Data

Data Management Plan Requirements - National Science Foundation Some full text availableopenURL
Requirements for dissemination and sharing of research results when funded by the National Science Foundation.
Dryad Digital Repository (Datadryad.org) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.

Databases

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science) Restricted Resource
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature.  Includes Biological Abstracts.  Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.  Select BIOSIS Previews from the pull down menu beside the Web of Science Core Collection heading.
Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine Some full text available
A cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). 
GenBank Some full text available
The NIH genetic sequence database; an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.  Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
The most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., and the National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
MITCogNet Library
A searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, and conference materials.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present


PubMed
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching across many databases.

Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users).

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 
WikiPathways Some full text availableopenURL
An open, collaborative platform dedicated to the curation of biological pathways.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Oxford Reference: Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Dictionaries and Encylopedias on Science and Technology from Oxford University Press

Directories

Neuroguide.com Best Bets
List of the best neuroscience resources available on the Web.
Neuroscience Information Framework
NIF is a searchable inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources.

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience Some full text available Resource contains images
Including in-depth essays and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases.
note: Oberlin College affiliated users only

Handbooks & Guides

Data Management Plan Templates Some full text availableopenURL
From Columbia University Libraries Scholarly Communication Program.  Includes templates for DOE, NIH, NSF, and others, covering all areas of natural and social sciences.  See also DMPTool for many publicly shared Data Management Plans in various research areas.
DMPTool, California Digital Library Some full text availableopenURL
Guidelines, templates, examples of data management plans; University of California Curation Center of the California Digital Library.
Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks, 2nd ed. Some full text available
Covers the immense progress made in recent years in areas related to great questions: How does the brain work? How can we build intelligent machines?
note: electronic book
Handbook of Neurotoxicology Some full text available
 
note: electronic book, volume one only
NSF Data Management Plan Requirements Some full text availableopenURL
Listing of requirements for each NSF directorate or unit, to be followed when submitting a research proposal to the National Science Foundation.

Images

BrainMaps.org Resource contains images
An interactive atlas of scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains. 
Visible Human Project Resource contains images
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Whole Brain Atlas Resource contains images
 A collection of MR images of the brain, presenting a range of brain abnormalities. 

Journals

Journal of Neuroscience Some full text available
The official journal of the Society for Neuroscience, based in Washington, D.C.
Nature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library.
note: No access to pre-1987 articles online.  Print archive kept on campus.  See holdings in OBIS.
PLoS Biology Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 
PLoS Medicine Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 
PubMed Central Some full text available
Archive of open access biomedical and life sciences journals. 
Science (archive in JSTOR) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; cutting edge research, scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library. Publisher: American Association for the Advancement of Science
note: JSTOR Archive: 1880 to five years before current year.  Full archive + current issues at sciencemag.org
Science (archive in JSTOR)
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
note: Current Issues

Organizations & Associations

Society for Behaviorial Neuroendocrinology (SBN) Some full text available Resource contains images
 The society's official journal, Hormones and Behavior, is published by Elsevier.

Web Sites

Allen Brain Atlas
An online public collection of resources integrating extensive gene expression and neuroanatomical data.
fMRIDC
 A public repository of peer-reviewed fMRI studies and their underlying data. (Functional magnetic resonance imaging)
Purves Lab
Research and news about visual perceptions. Includes demonstrations of visual perceptions experiments. 
Best Journal Article Database
MEDLINE, BIOSIS and Science Citation Index can be searched simultaneously in Web of Science (below).  Other MEDLINE options:  EbscoHostPubMedSciFinder.
 

Web of Science

Search Web of Science™
   

Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters   

Research Librarian
Alison Ricker
Science Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-8310
aricker@oberlin.edu or slibrary@oberlin.edu
Neurology/Neuroscience News

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Contact
This guide is maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP