19th Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers is a rich archive of primary source material for research on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and the Antebellum era. It is possible to search the entire database or to limit a search by city and/or state as well as by newspaper title.
Access Newspaper Archive
Access Newspaper Archive Includes Buckeye Sentinel (1844-1845); Chronicle Telegram (1919-2007); Constitutionalist (1869-1872); Daily Chronicle (1901-1903); Elyria Chronicle (1853-1919); Elyria Daily Chronicle (1906-1907); Elyria Democrat (1887-1915); Elyria Evening Telegram (1913-1916); Elyria Independent Democrat (1860-1876); Evening Telegram (1907-1919); Independent Treasury (1841-1842); Lorain Constitutionalist (1871-1871); Lorain Republican (1842-1844); Lorain Standard (1840-1840); Reporter (1907-1907); Sunday Times-Signal (1926-1926); Weekly Chronicle (1902-1904)
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states — including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
AP Images
AP Images is a collection of historical and contemporary imagery from the Associate Press. .AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Dates of Coverage: 1690-1876
Chronicling America
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.Dates of Coverage: 1959-
Historical Newspapers Online
Gateway to hundreds of open access historical US newspaper collections on the web, organized by state; maintained by University of Pennsylvania Libraries
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
Provides the complete full text of the Los Angeles Times. It is possible to search for keywords as well as to browse images of the complete pages. Dates of Coverage: 1881-1989
New York Times (1851-2009)
New York Times (1851-2009) provides the complete full text of the New York Times. It is possible to search for keywords as well as to browse images of the complete pages.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers is a rich archive of primary source material for research on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and the Antebellum era. It is possible to search the entire database or to limit a search by city and/or state as well as by newspaper title.
Access Newspaper Archive
Access Newspaper Archive Includes Buckeye Sentinel (1844-1845); Chronicle Telegram (1919-2007); Constitutionalist (1869-1872); Daily Chronicle (1901-1903); Elyria Chronicle (1853-1919); Elyria Daily Chronicle (1906-1907); Elyria Democrat (1887-1915); Elyria Evening Telegram (1913-1916); Elyria Independent Democrat (1860-1876); Evening Telegram (1907-1919); Independent Treasury (1841-1842); Lorain Constitutionalist (1871-1871); Lorain Republican (1842-1844); Lorain Standard (1840-1840); Reporter (1907-1907); Sunday Times-Signal (1926-1926); Weekly Chronicle (1902-1904)
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states — including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
AP Images
AP Images is a collection of historical and contemporary imagery from the Associate Press. .AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Dates of Coverage: 1690-1876
Chronicling America
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.Dates of Coverage: 1959-
Historical Newspapers Online
Gateway to hundreds of open access historical US newspaper collections on the web, organized by state; maintained by University of Pennsylvania Libraries
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
Provides the complete full text of the Los Angeles Times. It is possible to search for keywords as well as to browse images of the complete pages. Dates of Coverage: 1881-1989
New York Times (1851-2009)
New York Times (1851-2009) provides the complete full text of the New York Times. It is possible to search for keywords as well as to browse images of the complete pages.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Dates of Coverage: 1800s
Current Digest of the Russian Press (1949- )
A selection of Russian Language press materials translated into English. Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press are included in the Archive.Dates of Coverage: 1949-current
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2007)
Times of London Digital Archive allows browsing by date as well as keyword searching. Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2007
19th Century British Library Newspapers Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Dates of Coverage: 1800s
Current Digest of the Russian Press (1949- )
A selection of Russian Language press materials translated into English. Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press are included in the Archive.Dates of Coverage: 1949-current
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2007)
Times of London Digital Archive allows browsing by date as well as keyword searching. Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2007
Access Newspaper Archive
Access Newspaper Archive Includes Buckeye Sentinel (1844-1845); Chronicle Telegram (1919-2007); Constitutionalist (1869-1872); Daily Chronicle (1901-1903); Elyria Chronicle (1853-1919); Elyria Daily Chronicle (1906-1907); Elyria Democrat (1887-1915); Elyria Evening Telegram (1913-1916); Elyria Independent Democrat (1860-1876); Evening Telegram (1907-1919); Independent Treasury (1841-1842); Lorain Constitutionalist (1871-1871); Lorain Republican (1842-1844); Lorain Standard (1840-1840); Reporter (1907-1907); Sunday Times-Signal (1926-1926); Weekly Chronicle (1902-1904)
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin NewsDates of Coverage: 1860-1937
Oberlin Evangelist 1838-1862
Searchable digital scans of the Oberlin Evangelist, a valuable resource for early Oberlin College and town history, as well as the intellectual, social and religious history of the antebellum era.
Index to the Oberlin Observer
Dates of Coverage: 1979-1998
Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Searchable full text access to the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991.
Coverage for 1991 to the present also available.
Access Newspaper Archive Includes Buckeye Sentinel (1844-1845); Chronicle Telegram (1919-2007); Constitutionalist (1869-1872); Daily Chronicle (1901-1903); Elyria Chronicle (1853-1919); Elyria Daily Chronicle (1906-1907); Elyria Democrat (1887-1915); Elyria Evening Telegram (1913-1916); Elyria Independent Democrat (1860-1876); Evening Telegram (1907-1919); Independent Treasury (1841-1842); Lorain Constitutionalist (1871-1871); Lorain Republican (1842-1844); Lorain Standard (1840-1840); Reporter (1907-1907); Sunday Times-Signal (1926-1926); Weekly Chronicle (1902-1904)
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin NewsDates of Coverage: 1860-1937
Oberlin Evangelist 1838-1862
Searchable digital scans of the Oberlin Evangelist, a valuable resource for early Oberlin College and town history, as well as the intellectual, social and religious history of the antebellum era.
Index to the Oberlin Observer
Dates of Coverage: 1979-1998
Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Searchable full text access to the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991.
Coverage for 1991 to the present also available.
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment