International Open Access Week Oct 23-29 2017
What is Open Access?
Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research outputs (articles, conference papers, monographs, etc.) coupled with the rights to use them fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results.

Learn more:
Open Access @ Oberlin
Oberlin College's commitment to the dissemination of the results of its research and scholarship as widely as possible is reflected in the Open Access Resolution adopted by the General Faculty in 2009.  The Libraries uphold this commitment by actively using our acquisitions funds to support open access initiatives and projects in nearly all disciplines; by maintaining Digital Commons, the institutional repository; and by facilitating the deposit of Oberlin honors theses in the OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center.
Selected Resources Supported by OC Libraries
Knowledge Unlatched is built upon libraries and publishers working together to create a sustainable route to Open Access for scholarly books. KU secures long-term cost savings for institutions by sharing the costs of making Humanities/Social Sciences monographs available on a Creative Commons license.By taking part in Knowledge Unlatched libraries help to ensure that good books continue to be published and that the core outputs of the humanities and social sciences are not left behind in the shift to Open Access. Note: In OBIS, do a keyword search “knowledge unlatched” for access to nearly 100 KU titles!


Open Book Publishers, founded in 2008, is the biggest open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK and amongst the leaders in the English-speaking world. OPB is now the hub of choice for a rapidly increasing international network of scholars who believe that it is time for academic publishing to become fairer, faster and more accessible. OPB open access books are in all subject areas, with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. OBIS keyword search “open book publishers” for access to nearly 200 OBP titles!

Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author processing charges. It is funded by an international consortium of libraries (including Oberlin!) who have joined in OLH’s mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future. https://www.openlibhums.org/

PhilPapers hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.  It is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. All sources of research content in philosophy are included: journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. Its index currently includes over 1.7M books and articles. For access, keyword search OBIS for “PhilPapers."

Reveal Digital uses a library crowd-funding model which relies on library acquisition dollars to fund the development of digital collections.
Collections now available:
  • KKK Newspapers - Hate in America: The Rise and Fall of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s. Features national Klan publications as well as regional and local Klan produced papers.
  • Independent Voices - Collection of an Alternative Press. Includes newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
To access these two collections, search the titles in OBIS!
All Disciplines
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.  doaj.org/

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a service of the OAPEN Foundation, an international initiative dedicated to open access monograph publishing.  DOAB currently enables discovery of more than 9,000 peer reviewed books and chapters from over 200 publishers. doab.org


Internet Archive offers free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 300 billion archived web pages in The Wayback Machine. archive.org/
Science
The Public Library of Science (PLOS) contains peer-reviewed journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine.  https://www.plos.org/

PubMedCentral is a free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/

Openstax is a nonprofit based at Rice University; more than 20 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students. https://openstax.org/

arXiv.org features 1,311,638 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. https://arxiv.org/

USGS Publications Warehouse contains 150,000 publications & maps written by US Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau. pubs.er.usgs.gov/

American Chemical Society's ACS Central Science publishes the “most compelling, important primary reports on research in chemistry and in allied fields, wherein chemical approaches play a key role.”  pubs.acs.org/journal/acscii

BioMed Central features 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine, including the well-respected BMC series. Part of SpringerNature.  www.biomedcentral.com/
Music
Music Festivals Database is a fully-searchable index of programs, personnel, ensembles and venues of over a thousand musical festivals held in Great Britain between 1695 and 1940. Created by Oberlin Prof. Charles McGuire! musicalfestivals.org/

Alan Lomax spent his life researching and promoting unrecorded and unrecognized music, dance, and oral traditions. The Cultural Equity site preserves those traditions and his research. www.culturalequity.org/

Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. www.loc.gov/collections/music-treasures-consortium

The National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. www.loc.gov/jukebox/

Digital archive of medieval, Renaissance, and early-modern music manuscripts. More than 25,000 high-resolution images, many with extensive metadata. www.diamm.ac.uk/
 
Art
A number of major museums now make available, freely and without usage restrictions, images from their collections which they believe to be in the public domain or for which they choose to waive copyright.

NGA ImagesNGA Images More than 45,000 open access digital images from the collections of the National Gallery of Art.

Getty Open Content ImagesGetty Open Content Images Nearly 115,000 images from the Getty Collections.


Metropolitan Museum of Art More than 200,000 images from the The Met collection are considered public domain works. 
Back to TOP