All Items by Source Type

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Indexes books, anthologies, and articles from 300+ journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Dates of Coverage: 1940-

Religion and Philosophy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text from more than 290 journals; covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

ETHX Web (1974-2009)
ETHX Web covers the literature of bioethics and professional ethics, with over 250,000 citations to journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.

Dates of Coverage: 1974-2009
GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
Covers the literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.
PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. The service monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. PhilPapers' purpose is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research. 

PhilSci-Archive
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion
Print Location: Main Reference BL51 .D514 2010 Some full text available
OBIS record

Dictionary of World Philosophy
Print Location: Main Reference B41 .I26 2001 Some full text available
OBIS record

The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
Print Location: Main Reference B41 .B79 2004 Some full text available
OBIS record

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Print Location: Main Reference B41 .C35 1999 Some full text available
OBIS record

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Philosophy Restricted Resource
Second edition of the standard work from Macmillan which includes substantive articles by talented scholars exploring the full spectrum of philosophical topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Restricted Resource
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Clear and reliable entires to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: Main Reference B51 .R68 1998 Some full text available
OBIS record

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Some full text available
A dynamic reference work which includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of an editorial board before they are made public.
The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy
Print Location: Main Reference B21 .B56 1996 Some full text available
OBIS record

Organizations & Associations

American Philosophical Association
Founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.

American Philosophical Society
Promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach. This country's first learned society, the APS has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for over 250 years

Web Sites

Oberlin College Department of Philosophy
The official website of the Philosophy department of Oberlin College.
Philosophy Experiments
Interactive philosophy tests and activities designed to tell you what you don't want to know about yourself.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Search Summon
Philosophy News

Loading ...

New Books in our Collection

Loading ...

Back to TOP