Best Journal Article Database
Inspec, 1969-present
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.  The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn.  The library is investigating alternative modes of access.   
All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

New Physics for the Twenty-First Century
Print Location: Science Library QC7.5 .N49 2006
OBIS record
Twentieth Century Physics
Print Location: Science Library QC7 .T84 1995 vols.1-3
OBIS record 

Chemical & Physical Properties Data

Chemical Properties Handbook
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk TP200 .Y35 1999
OBIS record
note: Physical, thermodynamic, environmental, transport, safety, and health related properties for organic and inorganic chemicals
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
CRCnetBase; online version of the 2011-12 edition of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.  Includes structure and properties search.  Older print editions are in the science library. OBIS Catalog Record for the print version.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QD65.H3 2010-2011
note: 91st ed.
NIST Physics Laboratory Holdings by Element Some full text available
 Includes atomic spectra, ionization data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, nuclear physics data and more.
Visual Elements Periodic Table Resource contains images
An interactive periodic table of elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
GradschoolShopper.com
The American Institute of Physics' guide to graduate programs in physics and related fields. 
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.

Online Engineering Degrees
Search for online and campus engineering degree programs. Also provides information about the types of degrees available and accredited programs.
PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Databases

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
arXiv.org
arXiv provides open access to e-prints in the areas of physics, astronomy, mathematics, computer science and more. 
Compendex (1884- ) Restricted Resource
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.


Dates of Coverage: 1884-present
 


E-print Network Some full text available
From the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information, E-print Network is a full-text searchable database of electronic resources.
EI Engineering Village Restricted Resource
EI Engineering Village is a cross database searching service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering.
Einstein Archives Online Some full text available
Digitized manuscripts and database of 43,000+ archival items. 
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains 600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. 
Inspec, 1969-present Restricted Resource
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.
 
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn.  The library is investigating alternative modes of access.  

inSPIRE Some full text available
High energy physics literature database. "CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, which empowers scientists with innovative tools for successful research at the dawn of an era of new discoveries".
Science.gov Some full text available
Search U.S. government science information. 
Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.  

Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950-  Citation Indexes: 1965-  BIOSIS: 1969- )

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics
Print Location: Sci Reference QC5 .D485 2001
OBIS record

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. 

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Acoustics
Print Location: Science Library QC221.5 .E53 1997 vols. 1-4
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Eric Weisstein's World of Science Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.
MacMillan Encyclopedia of Physics
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QC5 .M15 1996 vols.1-4
OBIS record 

Handbooks & Guides

AIP Physics Desk Reference, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QC61 .P49 2003
OBIS record 
Eformulae.com
Provides formulae and tables about mathematics, physics and chemistry.
Handbook of Physics
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QC61 .H33 2002
OBIS record 

Journals

APS Journals Some full text available
The journals of the American Physical Society. Includes past and current editions of Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A-E, Reviews of Modern Physics and more. Also provides searchable access to the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA).
IOPscience
Provides searchable access to journals published by the Institute of Physics. 
New Journal of Physics Some full text available
An open-access physics journal.
Physical Review X Some full text available
A fully open access journal from the American Physical Society.


Physics Today
Physics Today is a popular physics magazine published by the American Institue of Physics. 

Physics Today
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
Scitation Some full text available
The American Institute of Physics Online Journals. Includes the Journal of Chemical Physics and the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data.

Organizations & Associations

Fermilab
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory 

Software & Web Tools

Guide to LaTeX & Typesetting
Links to templates, guides, and software for using LaTeX to write scientific documents. Also includes links to other tools that typeset mathematical equations.
Scirus
Scientific search engine. 
Wolfram Alpha Some full text available Resource contains images
A computational knowledge search engine. Wolfram Alpha will compute mathematical equations.

Web Sites

Nucleus Resource contains images Resource contains video
Physics and astronomy resources for undergraduates. The Nucleus includes searchable listings of research and internship opportunities. 
Physics Central Some full text available Resource contains images
Hosted by the APS, Physics Central provides physics resources and news. 
Physics World Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Hosted by the IOP, Physics World provides physics news, webinars, and other resources.
PhysLink.com Some full text available Resource contains images
Online physics tools for education and reference. 
Research Help @ the Science Library
Alison Ricker aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian


Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online

Phone:  
440-775-5146  Office
440-775-8310  Circulation Desk

News Links from Physics World

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Acknowledgments
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.  Maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP