Political News
CQ Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides in-depth reports on issues before the U.S. Congress, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Dates of Coverage: 1983-

National Journal Restricted Resource
Regarded as the most credible, objective, and authoritative voice in the Beltway.

Politico
News & analysis of all things political

Stateline - by the Pew Center on the States
Search by major issue or by state for news and analysis

General News
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.


Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes 20,000+ full text global news and business sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and photos from Reuters . Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

 



Fun Facts about Factiva and LexisNexis Academic

*Oberlin subscribes to academic versions of these national databases which means we do not have access to all of the content in the commercial/legal versions.   

*Only 3 Oberlin researchers can use Factiva at the same time.  If you get turned away, or asked for a password, try again later.


*Factiva does NOT export to RefWorks.



Finding Scholarly Articles
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915-



Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

See Also:
Elections 2012 guide


Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions

For background on the political cultures of states and regions. 

Back to TOP