Presidents & The Presidency
Guide to the Presidency (CQ Press)
The leading reference source on the office of the presidency and those who have held it.

American President:  A Reference Resource
(Miller Center at UVA)
In-depth information on each U.S. President and administration, reviewed by leading scholars.

Vital Statistics on the Presidency:  George Washington to George W. Bush
Main Reference JK 518 .R34 2009

Presidential Elections, 1789-2008: County, State, and National Mapping of Election Data
Main Reference  JK524 .D47 2010


Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms: The Complete Encyclopedia

Main Reference  JK524 .R58 2012 vols. 1 - 3  

Politics, Government & Law
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History (CQ Press)

Gale Virtual Reference Library includes these sources:
  • Encyclopedia of Governance
  • Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
  • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
     
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court (CQ Press)
Congress
Guide to Congress (CQ Press)

Congressional Quarterly Almanac
Main Reference JK1.C663 2008 - 2012
Main Library       JK1.C663 1949 - 2007
 

Congress and the Nation
Main Reference KF49.C65 1945 - 2008

Research Centers & Organizations
Miller Center at the University of Virginia
A non-partisan institute seeking to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history. 

Includes:
  • Essays on each president
  • Recordings Program
  • Speech Archive
  • Oral Histories
  • Image Gallery
Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress
A non-profit, non-partisan organization.  Publications include Presidential Fellows Reviews, Issue Papers, and other reports. 

White House Transition Project
Since 1997, the WHTP has combined the efforts of scholars, universities, and policy institutions to smooth out presidential transitions. 

American Political Science Association - Presidents and Executive Politics Section (PEP)
*Publishes the PEP Report on teaching and researching the presidency
*Formerly known as the Presidency Research Group which published the PRG Report (1979-2010)
Presidential Documents
American Presidency Project (UCSB) (1789- present)
The most comprehensive collection of presidential documents on the web.  Also includes audio and video clips and selected data.

Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993 - present)

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (print copy)
Main Library       J80 .A283           Carter - Obama (2009)
Main Library       353.03 Un3P       Hoover - Ford
 

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (print copy)
Main Periodicals               1965-2000

 

Congressional Documents
ProQuest Congressional Publications

Congress.gov (formerly Thomas)

OpenCRS:  Congressional Research Service Reports
Audio & Video
Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson
Fully annotated transcripts that allow you to listen and read simultaneously.

Presidential Recordings Program (Miller Center at UVA)
Secret White House tapes, presented with transcripts and analysis from Miller Center presidential scholars.   Includes material from Franklin Roosevelt through Richard Nixon.

Presidential Speech Archive (Miller Center at UVA)
Transcripts of important speeches; audio and video provided when available. 

Presidential Audio & Video (American Presidency Project)
Coverage begins with Herbert Hoover.
Public Opinion / Polling Data
iPoll (1935 to date)
Survey data from all major U.S. polling firms (academic, commercial, media) back to 1935;  updated daily, include full text of questions and responses to more than 500,000 queries.

Polling the Nations
Includes questions from polls conducted in the U.S. and more than 100 countries since 1986.

Presidential Studies Quarterly
The only scholarly journal to focus exclusively on the U.S. presidency;  published by the non-profit, non-partisan Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress.

PSQ access via JSTOR:  1974-2010
  *every word of every article is searchable

PSQ access via OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center:  1998 to the present
Political News
National Journal
Online access:  1977 - present
Main Periodicals:  1965 - present

CQ Weekly
Online access:  1983 - present
Main Periodicals:  1965 - 2001

News Databases
Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes 20,000+ full text global news and business sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and photos from Reuters . Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

 



New York Times (1851-2009) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Back to TOP