A to Z Maps

A to Z Maps includes:Animal & plant distribution maps -- Antique maps -- Bible maps -- Canada maps -- Climate change maps -- Current event maps -- Earthquake maps -- Education-teaching tools -- Environmental maps -- Flags of the world -- Geography databases -- Geology maps -- GIS data -- Glossaries -- Google Earth -- Hurricane maps -- Map games & puzzles -- Modern map collection -- NASA maps -- Software -- USA maps -- Volcano maps -- Weather maps
A to Z Maps includes:Animal & plant distribution maps -- Antique maps -- Bible maps -- Canada maps -- Climate change maps -- Current event maps -- Earthquake maps -- Education-teaching tools -- Environmental maps -- Flags of the world -- Geography databases -- Geology maps -- GIS data -- Glossaries -- Google Earth -- Hurricane maps -- Map games & puzzles -- Modern map collection -- NASA maps -- Software -- USA maps -- Volcano maps -- Weather maps
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection 
Online historical map collection with over 25,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Online historical map collection with over 25,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
In the First Person
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives Allows keyword searching of more than 700,000 pages of full-text by more than 18,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 4,300 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records. The index contains approximately 20,500 months of diary entries, 63,000 letter entries, and 17,000 oral history entries.
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives Allows keyword searching of more than 700,000 pages of full-text by more than 18,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 4,300 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records. The index contains approximately 20,500 months of diary entries, 63,000 letter entries, and 17,000 oral history entries.
Nation, "The Nation" Digital Archives

Digital archive of The Nation, a weekly news magazine
Dates of coverage: 1865 - current
Digital archive of The Nation, a weekly news magazine
Dates of coverage: 1865 - current
19th Century British Pamphlets

19th Century British Pamphlets Includes seven individual collections held at universities within the UK, many of which are whole collections that belonged to individual politicians or political families. These are: Bristol Selected pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet collection, and LSE Selected pamphlets.
Dates of Coverage: 1603-1899
19th Century British Pamphlets Includes seven individual collections held at universities within the UK, many of which are whole collections that belonged to individual politicians or political families. These are: Bristol Selected pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet collection, and LSE Selected pamphlets.
Dates of Coverage: 1603-1899
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, 1639 - 1800

The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Dates of Coverage: 1639-1800
The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Dates of Coverage: 1639-1800
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
Dates of Coverage: 1801-1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.
Dates of Coverage: 1801-1819
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online includes the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare; this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
Early English Books Online includes the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare; this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on the English Short Title Catalogue, and includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on the English Short Title Catalogue, and includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800
HarpWeek

HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871.
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871.
iPoll

A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.
Data is available at the question-level.
Dates of coverage: 1935 -
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.
Data is available at the question-level.
Dates of coverage: 1935 -
NAACP Papers
Nearly 2 million digitized pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and covers issues including: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others. It provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements from 1909-1970.
Nearly 2 million digitized pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and covers issues including: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others. It provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements from 1909-1970.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Subjects covered include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular Culture
Includes a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. Congressional Universe provides access to: Congressional publications from 1970 to the present. CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970. Testimony from congressional hearings. Bills as they move through the House and Senate. The Congressional Record and Federal Register. Information about members and committees.
ProQuest Congressional offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. Congressional Universe provides access to: Congressional publications from 1970 to the present. CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970. Testimony from congressional hearings. Bills as they move through the House and Senate. The Congressional Record and Federal Register. Information about members and committees.
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838

American State Papers, 1789 - 1838 cover such historical events as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Burr's Conspiracy and Arrest, and the Treaty of the Creek Indians. Other documents address the Battle with the Seminole Indians, Capture of the British Fleet on Lake Champlain, Depredations Committed by Mounted Riflemen, Exploration of the Pacific Ocean, Free Negroes in North Carolina, Land for Female Academies, Protection of the Western Frontier, Trade with China and much more.
Dates of Coverage: 1789 - 1838
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838 cover such historical events as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Burr's Conspiracy and Arrest, and the Treaty of the Creek Indians. Other documents address the Battle with the Seminole Indians, Capture of the British Fleet on Lake Champlain, Depredations Committed by Mounted Riflemen, Exploration of the Pacific Ocean, Free Negroes in North Carolina, Land for Female Academies, Protection of the Western Frontier, Trade with China and much more.
Dates of Coverage: 1789 - 1838
AP Images

AP Images is a collection of historical and contemporary imagery from the Associate Press. .AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.
HathiTrust Digital Library 
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
Europeana

A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Google Books 
"With millions of books to choose from in every imaginable category, finding what you want to read on Google eBooks is easy. You can check out the New York Times bestseller list or discover up-and-coming authors. Read nearly three million free ebooks and over hundreds of thousands of titles that are ready for purchase; with Google eBooks, you have unlimited storage of books in the digital cloud.
"With millions of books to choose from in every imaginable category, finding what you want to read on Google eBooks is easy. You can check out the New York Times bestseller list or discover up-and-coming authors. Read nearly three million free ebooks and over hundreds of thousands of titles that are ready for purchase; with Google eBooks, you have unlimited storage of books in the digital cloud.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook 
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook lists hundreds of documents important for studying the middle ages.
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook lists hundreds of documents important for studying the middle ages.
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment