Databases
19th Century British Pamphlets Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable digital scans of British Pamphlets held by UK libraries, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. Dates of Coverage: 1603-1899

19th Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
A vast index to British and American periodicals, newspapers, books, and other sources documenting the 19th century.  Dates of Coverage: 1786 -1922



China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Rare pamphlets, mostly in English, on a wide variety of topics including the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations, missionaries, philosophy, art and literature and more.  

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.

Early English Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800

European Views of the Americas (1493-1750) Restricted Resource
Based on the bibligraphy “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.

Europeana Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Selected Sources Index Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Primary sources from the Medieval period, both entire texts and excerpted, arranged by period, location and theme. Many are translated into English.

Meiji Japan: The Edward Morse Collection from Peabody Essex Museum Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
 Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was one of the first Americans to live in Japan (1858-1925); his archive forms the basis of this website. Use for primary source materials -- diaries, drawings, correspondence, artifacts -- on everyday life as Japan went through several transitions. 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection;  Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange;  British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture.

Periodicals Archive Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP