RefWorks help file (searchable!) -- This is also available within RefWorks, from the Help pulldown menu.
Fundamentals workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises that reinforce the topics covered in RefWorks Fundamentals video tutorial series (see below).
Advanced features workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises for features/functions not covered in the Fundamentals tutorial or workbook. Features include: Global Edit, Advanced Search/Saved Searches, Duplicate Checking, My List and more.
RefWorks Quick Start Guide -- Illustrates some of the basic features of RefWorks in a concise, printable handout.
RefWorks Fundamental video tutorials on Youtube -- Whether you are new to RefWorks are just need to brush up on the basics, these tutorials will help you learn some basic features to get started using RefWorks.
Fundamentals workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises that reinforce the topics covered in RefWorks Fundamentals video tutorial series (see below).
Advanced features workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises for features/functions not covered in the Fundamentals tutorial or workbook. Features include: Global Edit, Advanced Search/Saved Searches, Duplicate Checking, My List and more.
RefWorks Quick Start Guide -- Illustrates some of the basic features of RefWorks in a concise, printable handout.
RefWorks Fundamental video tutorials on Youtube -- Whether you are new to RefWorks are just need to brush up on the basics, these tutorials will help you learn some basic features to get started using RefWorks.
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library
OhioLINK Library Catalog
Journal Finder
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
Journal Finder
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
Academic Search Complete
Covers scholarly journals and popular magazines on nearly every subject. Includes full text of many articles.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center ( EJC)
Provides the full text of articles from more than 50 academic publishers.Coverage includes humanites, social sciences, natural sciences, as well as engineering.
JSTOR
Search full-text articles in core scholarly journals throughout multiple fields.It's an archive: most titles lack entries from the past 2-5 years.
Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 - )
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
Web of Knowledge
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index. Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
Covers scholarly journals and popular magazines on nearly every subject. Includes full text of many articles.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center ( EJC)
Provides the full text of articles from more than 50 academic publishers.Coverage includes humanites, social sciences, natural sciences, as well as engineering.
JSTOR
Search full-text articles in core scholarly journals throughout multiple fields.It's an archive: most titles lack entries from the past 2-5 years.
Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 - )
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
Web of Knowledge
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index. Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
Eboni Johnson
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Tel: (440) 775-5026
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment
- Oberlin College Writing Center
Located in the Academic Commons of Mudd Library (first floor) - Citation Help -- Print sources at Oberlin
- Citation Help -- Online sources
- Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
- RefWorks
Keep track of all the "stuff" you gather for your research! More about this later in the semester.
- CRAAP test -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online
- keyword exercise.docx
-- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find