Finding reviews, etc.
Internet Movie Database -- the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. Includes a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.  Includes access to 
Variety and Daily Variety.



Film Literature Index Unrestricted Resource
References to popular and scholarly articles about film and television. Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date. -- Note! Use the document type field to limit your results to "reviews."

 
Some PRINT sources to consider
The Motion picture guide
Main Reference     PN1993.M4334  (several volumes)

Variety film reviews
 Main Reference     PN1993.V36 (21 volumes)

New York Times Film Reviews
Main Reference     PN1995.N4 (several volumes)
Finding films/videos in OBIS...
There are nearly 25,000 videos/DVDs in OBIS. Here's how to find them:

Before a search:

1. From the Videos/DVDs tab
  • Search by Title, People (Directors, Actors, Producers, Writer), or Subject Heading
  • Search for Online Videos
  • Browse the alphabetical list of videos/DVDs for each library at the bottom.

2. From the OBIS Advanced Search Screen select either:
  • MATERIAL type: Video/DVD
  • Collection: Search Video/DVD only


Optional Limits:

  • Language (of the film)
  • Date (of the film)
  • Oberlin library location

After a search:

From the OBIS search results select



then

MATERIAL type: VIDEO/DVD
Research help
Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research related to Writing, Research, Composition and related topics.
  1. Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet docx to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.  
     
  2. Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  3. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  4. You may also wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
     
  5. Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet pdf to evaluate the sources you find!
Search (almost) everything
Book Search
Search OBIS
Finding articles
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Particularly good for cited reference searching.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Writing & citation help

KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES


ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps researchers gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
  • Search - OBIS, OhioLink, PubMed & Scopus
  • Share - Folders via URL
  • Store - PDFs online and take notes
  • Read - Search your references fulltext and save searches
  • Write - Create a simple reference list and use Write-N-Cite to format paper in Microsoft Word
  • Check out our video tutorial!
Back to TOP