Speeches and Public Statements
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Transcript, audio, and video of more than 5,000 American speeches on politics and culture.

CSPAN Archives Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Over 220,000 hours of C-Span coverage of the government, with transcripts and video. Search for "address" or "speech" to find speeches.

History and Politics Out Loud Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Audio and transcript of speeches by influential leaders of the 20th and 21st centuries.

The American Presidency Project Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Online database of over 129,483 presidential documents, including The Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913), The Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2012), The Weekly Compliation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009), The Daily Compliation of Presidential Documents (2009-2017), as well as party platforms, candidate's remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the office of the Press Secretary, and election debates. 

Archive of Women's Political Communication Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The archives houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders, including presidents and prime ministers; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University. It also features the speeches of historically significant women, social activists and women who have used their position of celebrity to advocate for political causes.

Vital Speeches Text of speeches on wide range of political topics.
Political Ads
Open Secrets Unrestricted Resource
Data and analysis on campaign finance at the federal level. Includes data on political ad buys with local stations reported to the FCC, campaign contributions by candidate and donor at the state and federal level, and lobbyists. 2015–present. 

Living Room Candidate Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.

Political Ad Archive Unrestricted Resource
Collection of political ads from the 2016 election. In addition to tracking airings across key primary states, the collection includes ads that may have aired elsewhere or exclusively on social media.

Archive of Women's Political Communication Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The archives houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders, including presidents and prime ministers; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University. It also features the speeches of historically significant women, social activists and women who have used their position of celebrity to advocate for political causes.
 
News
LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


Internet Archive TV Archive Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Collects and preserves video and transcripts of TV news from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals. Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899  

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource
References to journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.  Dates of coverage:  1991 to date

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1992) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.

Newspaper Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.

 

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Research help
Main Library
Books
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.

OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio?s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK?s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

ILLiad InterLibrary Loan service used for books that are not available through OBIS or OhioLink and journal articles that are not available through the Journal Finder. 
Scholarly Journals
Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.


America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

Left Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates of Coverage: 1973-

PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--
Back to TOP