Background Sources
These sources may be useful in assisting you in developing your research question. 
Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.
The Modern Encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic, and Eurasian literatures
The Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
The Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
 
Primary Sources
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Online videos include documentaries and feature films
Eastview Universal Databases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.
World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Global Plants Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Community-contributed database in JSTOR of more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio?s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK?s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Eastern European and Slavic Studies Collection
The Empire that was Russia
America, Russia, and the Meeting of Frontiers

 
Secondary Sources
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) Restricted Resource
Scholarship on all aspects of Eastern Europe Dates of Coverage: 1990-
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio?s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK?s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.


GeoScienceWorld Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.   Includes also full-text of hundreds of technical and scholarly ebooks at ebooks.geoscienceworld.org.
Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates. OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Environment Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.  
Research help
Main Library
Back to TOP