Fact Checking: Dates, Names, Places
Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN)  - For alternate names and spellings
Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - For place names and their variants
Timeline of Art History - Includes images
Searching OBIS
Use both Keyword and Subject searches to identify key search terms and headings
Search for the keyword Rome by itself
since both Italy -- Rome and Rome (Italy) are used
  Primary sources: Early works to 1800; Sources; To 1500; To 1800; etc.     
  Search for both the century and the style: Baroque; 16th century; 17th century; Renaissance; Medieval; 20th century; etc.
  Architecture and monuments: Conservation and restoration; Pictorial works; Details; Designs and plans; Guidebooks; Decoration and ornament, Architectural; etc.
  Building types and structural components: Church architecture; Church decoration and ornament; Harbors; Doorways; etc.
  Sites, neighborhoods, and regions: City planning; Gentrification; Urban renewal; Urban planning; Maps; Urban planning & architecture
All Items by Source Type


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Restricted Resource
Indexes architecture and related fields, from pre-historical to contemporary practice in 2,500+ international Journals. 1930s-date, with some titles indexed from 19th century. 
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1975-2007)
Index to 1,200+ North American and European Journals covering Western Art from ca. 300 CE to present. Succeeded by International Bibliography of Art.
International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes international scholarship covering the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 to date
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe.
Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date


Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: Main D 114 .D45 1982 vol. 1 – 10

Guide to all things medieval, with bibliographies. OBIS record

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.
Print Location: Main Ref. CB361 .E52 1999 vols. 1-6
Renaissance (1350 – 1650) in Italy and Europe.
 (1350 – 1650)   Entries cover subjects and important people.
OBIS record
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies.

note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias
Historical dictionary of Baroque art and architecture
Print Location: Art Lib. N 6415.B3 Z57 2010
- Rome, the cradle of Baroque art, attracted artists and architects from Italy and Europe 
- Over 500 entries on sculptors, architects, patrons, other historical figures, and events                  [fr the publisher]

La grande enciclopedia di Roma
Print Location: Art Ref. DG 804 .G67 2000
Sub title translates loosely as:  characters, curiosities, monuments, history, art and folklore of the Eternal City from its origins to the year two thousand
Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 31 .C44 1995 Resource contains images
OBIS record
65 basic concepts (such as brick, church, history, joinery, moisture control, membrane, window, etc.) with detailed illustrations 


Renaissance Collections in ARTstor Resource contains images
Digital library of more than 1million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a wide breadth and depth of arts and visual cultures.

Back to TOP