Encyclopedias: Monuments of Rome
Summary: For most undergraduate work Richardson is preferable: it is authoritative and in English,  although not as up-to-date, thorough, or authoritative as Steinby.
 
“Platner & Ashby”
Platner, Samuel Ball & Thomas Ashby. A topographical dictionary of ancient Rome. (London 1929)                 
Art Ref. DG 16 .P685; Full-text available on the Perseus Project
o The standard title when studying the monuments, ruins and areas of ancient Rome
o Covers both ancient and modern sources 
o Includes a chronological index of dated monuments        [BQP 21Sept07]
 
“Nash” (1961-62)
Nash, Ernest.   Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome. (London [1961-62])
Art Ref NA 310 .N28 1961 vol. 1&2
o Updates and illustrates monuments in Platner & Ashby
o Also includes architectural ornament, sculptural decoration and inscriptions
o  There is an extensive bibliography for each entry.                               [BQP 8/27/04]
 
“Richardson” (1992)
Richardson, L. jr
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome.(Baltimore and London 1992)
Art Ref. DG 68 1992                                                     
o Same format as Nash, Platner & Ashby; updates both with recent scholarship
o Includes maps, diagrams and a glossary        
o Only selected ancient sources are cited
o Not as many monuments as Steinby         [BQP 8/27/04]
 
“Steinby”
Steinby, Eva Margareta (ed.)   Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae<. (Roma c1993-c1999) 
Art Ref. DG 63 .L49 1993 vol. 1 - 6
o The most complete and up-to-date survey of the monuments of Rome
o Signed essays have a depth and length unmatched by its single author antecedents (Platner and Ashby, Nash and Richardson)
o  Arranged by divinity (religious structures) or building type (secular structures)
o Also includes Early Christian monuments dated before the 7th century
o  Illustrations in Nash are often better
Text is predominately Italian (with occasional articles in French, German or English); articles take the following basic format: 
1.   General definition and description of the site
2.   Citations to and analysis of all known relevant ancient texts
3.   History of the monument and the site up to the 20th century, emphasizing issues of interest to scholars and changes in use 
4.   Description of remains and reconstructions
5.   References to illustrations are in the margins throughout (these refer to any illustration in the 5 vol. set)
6.   Bibliography: usually covers only the last 25 years, but occasionally goes back into the 16th or 17th centuries                                                                              [Summary of 3 reviews, BQP 8/26/04] 
Background and context
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, Etruscan through the Roman EmpirePrint: Art Ref. N 5610 .G76 2007 vol. 1&2 

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites.
Richard Stillwell, ed. (Princeton 1976)
Art Ref. DE 59 .P7
Also on the Perseus Project site
750 B.C. to A.D 565
3,000 sites / remains of cities, towns, etc. keyed to maps
Databases
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals and popular magazines on many subjects
Art Full Text (1984 - current) 

Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984  (no full-text)
o   Articles from 350 art magazines & journals
o   Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide,
o  Index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
o Search full-text articles in core scholarly journalso An archive: most titles exclude current issues
Interesting Links
 Supposed discovery of Nero's Domus Aurea rotating dining room on the Palatine

Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae Project
Website documenting Stanford's digitization of the fragments of Forma Urbis Romae (the Severan marble plan of Rome).

In Rome's Basement: Below the city lies the world's largest undiscovered museum
National Geographic article on exploring Rome underground, including the Cloaca Maxima.

Archeorobot
The Cloaca Maxima mapping and scanning project going on now.
Also two videos here, and pictures on Flickr here.

Theater of Marcellus palace for sale
The Palazzo Orsini, built into the top of the Theater of Marcellus, is on the market for $39 million. 
Back to TOP