Web of Knowledge
BIOSIS, Science Citation Index and Medline can searched simultaneously in Web of Knowledge. Patents and conference proceedings are also indexed.
BIOSIS, Science Citation Index and Medline can searched simultaneously in Web of Knowledge. Patents and conference proceedings are also indexed.
Science Online from Facts on File

A curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.
American Men and Women of Science, 16th ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q141.A474 vols.1-8
OBIS record
Print Location: Science Library Q141.A474 vols.1-8
OBIS record
Biographical Dictionary of Scientists, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference Q141 .B528 2000 vols.1-2
OBIS record
Print Location: Sci Reference Q141 .B528 2000 vols.1-2
OBIS record
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Print Location: Sci Reference Q141 .B5285 2000 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Print Location: Sci Reference Q141 .B5285 2000 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Print Location: Main Reference Q141 .D5 vols. 1-18
Print Location: Main Reference Q141 .D5 vols. 1-18
Continuing Education & Careers
GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Derwent Innovations Index
Access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
Dates of Coverage: 1963-Present
Access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
Dates of Coverage: 1963-Present
E-print Network 
From the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information, E-print Network is a full-text searchable database of electronic resources.
From the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information, E-print Network is a full-text searchable database of electronic resources.
HighWire Publishing

An ePublishing platform from Stanford University. Offers 1705+ journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.
An ePublishing platform from Stanford University. Offers 1705+ journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Dates of Coverage: 1975-
Inspec, 1969-present
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn. The library is investigating alternative modes of access.
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn. The library is investigating alternative modes of access.
Oxford Reference

Over 100 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Access to materials published primarily in Russia and Eastern Europe. Subjects include arts & humanities, science, religion, philosophy, Slavic studies, political science, social sciences, economics.
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science)
Part of the Web of Knowledge. Provides access to the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Part of the Web of Knowledge. Provides access to the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Dates of Coverage: 1965-Present
Scopus
Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers all subjects, with emphasis on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Dates of Coverage: 1960-
Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers all subjects, with emphasis on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
Dates of Coverage: 1960-
USPTO Patent Full-Text Databases
Patent database from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Patent database from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Web of Knowledge
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.
Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.
Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950- Citation Indexes: 1965- BIOSIS: 1969- )
WWW Virtual Library: Natural Sciences and Mathematics 
Searchable collection of online science resources, including resources in the areas of bioscience, chemistry, earth science, mathematics, medicine and health, and physics.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference Q123 .M15 2002
OBIS record
Print Location: Sci Reference Q123 .M15 2002
OBIS record
Access Science

Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.
OBIS record for print edition. Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007 vols.1-20
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.
OBIS record for print edition. Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007 vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Earth

The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed, electronic encyclopedia about the Earth, its environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Eric Weisstein's World of Science

Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.
Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference Q121 . G35 2001 vols. 1-6
OBIS record
Print Location: Sci Reference Q121 . G35 2001 vols. 1-6
OBIS record
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia, 9th ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference Q121 .V3 2002 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Print Location: Sci Reference Q121 .V3 2002 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Nature
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) 
An international organization dedicated to the creation, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
An international organization dedicated to the creation, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
Science
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
note: Current Issue
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
note: Current Issue
National Academies
Includes the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council.
Includes the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council.
Wolfram Alpha

A computational knowledge search engine. Wolfram Alpha will compute mathematical equations.
Discoveries & Breakthroughs Insides Science 
The American Institues of Physics' television news services. Covers all areas of science.
The American Institues of Physics' television news services. Covers all areas of science.
SciCentral
Research news from reputable and reliable sources in the areas of bioscience, health science, physics/chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
Research news from reputable and reliable sources in the areas of bioscience, health science, physics/chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
ScienceWatch.com
Includes the Science Watch newsletter and regularly updated data, analysis, interviews, and commentary source data drawn from Essential Science Indicators.
Includes the Science Watch newsletter and regularly updated data, analysis, interviews, and commentary source data drawn from Essential Science Indicators.
Alison Ricker
aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian
.jpg)
Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online
Phone:
440-775-5146 Office
440-775-8310 Circulation Desk
Science Librarian
Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online
Phone:
440-775-5146 Office
440-775-8310 Circulation Desk
Loading ...
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science. Maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian. Email: aricker@oberlin.edu