Definition
Social Justice:  The objective of creating a fair and equal society in which each individual matters, their rights are recognized and protected, and decisions are made in ways that are fair and honest.
"social justice." In . : , 2008-01-01. http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/oi/authority.20110803100515279.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of activism and social justice  / editors, Gary L. Anderson & Kathryn G. Herr.
Covers topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.

Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice / [edited by] Sherwood Thompson.
A comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.

Youth activism : an international encyclopedia / Lonnie R. Sherrod, editor.
First-person accounts from today's youth activists as well as adult activists illuminate the journey from young idealist to lifelong work. The major categories that frame this work are advocacy for social causes.
Main Ref HQ799.2.P6 Y65 2006  vol. 1 and 2

Encyclopedia of global studies  / editors, Helmut K. Anheier, Mark Juergensmeyer ; managing editor Victor Faessel
Covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

Encyclopedia of American social movements / edited by Immanuel Ness ; foreword by Stephen Eric Bronner and Frances Fox Piven
Covers social movements in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Main Ref  HN57 .E594 2004  vol. 1 - 4

The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements / edited by David A. Snow ... [et al.]
It explores social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.

The Atlas of Global Inequalities
Annotation Drawing on research from around the world, this atlas gives shape and meaning to statistics, making it an indispensable resource for understanding global inequalities and an inspiration for social and political action. Inequality underlies many of the challenges facing the world today.
Main Ref  G1046.E625 C76 2011

The Atlas of Human Rights: mapping violations of freedom around the globe / Andrew Fagan
It charts both the progress and limitation of free expression and media censorship. It displays the areas that are beset with wars, conflict, migration, and genocide; details the geographic status of sexual freedom, racism, religious freedom, and the rights of the disabled; focuses on women's rights, sex slavery, and the rights of the child.
Databases (general)
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date


Peace Research Abstracts Restricted Resource
Covers all areas related to peace research, including war and conflict, international relations, arms control, the military, diplomacy, international law and conventions, nations and national policies, and international organizations.  Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, government publications, dissertations, significant speeches and conferences, pamphlets, and newsletters. Dates of Coverage: 1964-

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   
Databases (topical / specific)
Environment Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles that examine environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology sources.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.

Chicano Database Restricted Resource
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law. Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date

Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism Unrestricted Resource
Lists over 50,000 publications and videos on antisemitism and the Holocaust.  Maintained by the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Dates of coverage:  1925 to date

Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date

LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Databases - News and Primary documents
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Left Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 

World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013

Access to the New York Times (1851 to date).

Hein Online - Law and Government Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

NAACP Papers (1909-1970) Restricted Resource
Internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP, including papers of prominent individuals.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
Research Help
Web Sites - Tools for Activists
ACLU American Civil Liberties Union – Legal Rights
“Easy-to-use resources were created by the ACLU so you can have your rights at your fingertips.”

#BlackLivesMatter: A Bibliography for the Revolution
A bibliography of books and other resources complied by Black Lives Matter that have been helpful in conceptualizing and navigating this social justice movement

Global Nonviolent Action Database                
Browse or search for cases and methods of nonviolent actions.

How Protests Become Successful Social Movements  /  Greg Satell and Srdja Popovic

PolicyLink: Equity Tools
“Benchmarks, frameworks, and tools for measuring progress in equity efforts for policy change across a range of issues.”  Also includes the National Equity Atlas “a data and policy tool for the community leaders and policymakers who are working to build a new economy that is equitable, resilient, and prosperous.”

SURJ Showing up for Racial Justice
A “Canvassing tool kit” that includes tips for setting goals, building a team, choosing where to canvass, training canvassers, sample scripts and more.  The web site includes additional guidelines and tools to becoming an effective change agent.

START - US Progressive Organizations (list of organizations)
This list of organizations has been screened for institutional substance, meaning they have offices, boards of directors, and staff (usually paid staff) and provide expertise and leadership in their focus area.
Web Sites - Social Justice
ADC
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC) is a civil rights organization committed to defending the rights of people of Arab descent.

Center for American Progress
An independent nonpartisan policy institute dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans, through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (data)
Data & Statistics on various diseases & condition
CLASP is a public-interest law organization that advocates for policies that alleviate poverty and promote justice and equal opportunity.

Demos
A public policy organization working to reduce both political and economic inequality, deploying original research, advocacy, litigation, and strategic communications to create the America the people deserve.
 
Environmental Justice
Created by Environmental Protection Agency provides governmental information and other data on environmental justice.
 
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
Documents instances of media bias and censorship

FIAN - FoodFirst Information and Action Network
An international human rights organization that has advocated for the realization of the right to food for more than 20 years.
 
Human Rights Watch
One of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.

Idol No More
A First Nations movement to help build sovereignty of nationhood and protect environmental resources.

Jobs With Justice
Its mission is to improve working people's standard of living, fight for job security, and protect worker's right to organize.

Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
A coalition charged by its diverse membership of more than 200 national organizations to promote and protect the civil and human rights of all persons in the United States.

National Center for Transgender Equality
A national social justice organization devoted to ending discrimination and violence against transgender people through education and advocacy on national issues of importance to transgender people.

National Disability Rights Network
A voluntary association of congressionally mandated legally-based disability rights advocacy groups and agencies.

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The mission of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is to build the grassroots power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community, to defeat anti-LGBT referenda and advance pro-LGBT legislation.

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
  • Pew Hispanic Center This site includes information on immigration, the wages of Latinos over time and in comparison to others, Latino identity, educational outcomes, and more.

Poverty & Race Research Action Council (PRRAC)
A civil rights policy organization with the mission to connect advocates with social scientists working on race and poverty issues, and to promote a research-based advocacy strategy on structural inequality issues.

Race Forward
Advances racial justice through research, media, and practice. Site includes tools and research on pressing racial justice issues.

ReligionLink
Covering and avoiding relgious hate speech.  Part of a series on religious tolorance and combatting hate speech online.  Includes links to additional resources.

Southern Poverty Law Center
Priorities of the SPLC include monitoring hate groups and extremists throughout the United States, seeking justice for immigrant workers, and reforming the juvenile justice system.
 
Understanding and Dismantling Privilege
An interdisciplinary journal focusing on the intersectional aspects of privilege, bridging academia and practice, highlighting activism, and offering a forum for creative introspection on issues of inequity, power and privilege.

The Urban Institute
Urban Institute researchers examine gender inequalities, racial segregation, and the mutually reinforcing disparities they cause in education, housing, employment, income, and health care.

United Nations
the United Nations can take action on the issues confronting humanity in the 21st century, such as peace and security, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, disarmament, terrorism, humanitarian and health emergencies, gender equality, governance, food production, and more.”
Back to TOP