Hulu
Contains free current and past content from NBC, FOX, ABC, and a number of other studios. Subscription is required for full access to the back catalog.
Crackle
Provides free access to current and past television and movies. Crackle specializes in movies, TV shows and original programming in guys’ favorite genres – like action, sci-fi, horror, crime and comedy.
Crunchyroll
A streaming video website focusing on anime from Japan and dramas from Asia. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
DramaFever
A streaming website that provides access to Korean dramas, Japanese live action, and Chinese classics. Asian food, travel documentaries are also available. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
Contains free current and past content from NBC, FOX, ABC, and a number of other studios. Subscription is required for full access to the back catalog.
Crackle
Provides free access to current and past television and movies. Crackle specializes in movies, TV shows and original programming in guys’ favorite genres – like action, sci-fi, horror, crime and comedy.
Crunchyroll
A streaming video website focusing on anime from Japan and dramas from Asia. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
DramaFever
A streaming website that provides access to Korean dramas, Japanese live action, and Chinese classics. Asian food, travel documentaries are also available. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
Alan Lomax Archive (Association for Cultural Equity)
Materials related to the career of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Includes streaming sound and video recordings, radio programs, photographs, interviews and lectures, and field recording session information. The Lomax Geo-Archive maps digitized field recordings and session information onto geographic locations.
Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. In progress.
Europeana
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.
Materials related to the career of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Includes streaming sound and video recordings, radio programs, photographs, interviews and lectures, and field recording session information. The Lomax Geo-Archive maps digitized field recordings and session information onto geographic locations.
Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. In progress.
Europeana
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.
Smarthistory
"A free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook." This site features countless videos of unscripted discussions between art historians about countless art objects."
"A free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook." This site features countless videos of unscripted discussions between art historians about countless art objects."
Alan Lomax Archive (Association for Cultural Equity)
Materials related to the career of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Includes streaming sound and video recordings, radio programs, photographs, interviews and lectures, and field recording session information. The Lomax Geo-Archive maps digitized field recordings and session information onto geographic locations.
Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. In progress.
Hiphop Archive
Devoted to the study, preservation, creation, and representation of hiphop music. In addition to its research initiatives, collects all foms of related material culture, including recordings, videos, websites, publications, and original papers. Website includes introductions to hiphop scholarship, terminology, bibliographies, video from panels and discussions, and more.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
Saint Donatian Mass
A recreation, performed by the Cappella Pratensis, of the October 14, 1487, liturgical service at which Obrecht's Saint Donatian Mass was first sung. The website, still in progress, includes audio and video, an annotated copy of the score, and background information.
Materials related to the career of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Includes streaming sound and video recordings, radio programs, photographs, interviews and lectures, and field recording session information. The Lomax Geo-Archive maps digitized field recordings and session information onto geographic locations.
Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. In progress.
Hiphop Archive
Devoted to the study, preservation, creation, and representation of hiphop music. In addition to its research initiatives, collects all foms of related material culture, including recordings, videos, websites, publications, and original papers. Website includes introductions to hiphop scholarship, terminology, bibliographies, video from panels and discussions, and more.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
Saint Donatian Mass
A recreation, performed by the Cappella Pratensis, of the October 14, 1487, liturgical service at which Obrecht's Saint Donatian Mass was first sung. The website, still in progress, includes audio and video, an annotated copy of the score, and background information.
Crunchyroll
A streaming video website focusing on anime from Japan and dramas from Asia. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
DramaFever
A streaming website that provides access to Korean dramas, Japanese live action, and Chinese classics. Asian food, travel documentaries are also available. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
Foreign Language Digital Videos
Foreign Language Digital Videos is a collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. Videos are available in QuickTime format. These videos are produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
A streaming video website focusing on anime from Japan and dramas from Asia. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
DramaFever
A streaming website that provides access to Korean dramas, Japanese live action, and Chinese classics. Asian food, travel documentaries are also available. Videos are subtitled in English. A subscription is required for full, commercial free access.
Foreign Language Digital Videos
Foreign Language Digital Videos is a collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description of its contents, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. Videos are available in QuickTime format. These videos are produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
ARKive
Digital library of films, photographs, and audio recordings of the world's species.
iBioSeminars
Free online biology lectures and seminars.
Discoveries & Breakthroughs Insides Science
The American Institues of Physics' television news services. Covers all areas of science.
Science Online from Facts on File
A curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.
SpectroscopyNOW
All areas of spectroscopy are covered, with recent news, articles and links to related sources.
Digital library of films, photographs, and audio recordings of the world's species.
iBioSeminars
Free online biology lectures and seminars.
Discoveries & Breakthroughs Insides Science
The American Institues of Physics' television news services. Covers all areas of science.
Science Online from Facts on File
A curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.
SpectroscopyNOW
All areas of spectroscopy are covered, with recent news, articles and links to related sources.
Drop in at the Research Desk or call (440) 775-5031 during Reference hoursEmail us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at (440) 499-7TXT
Sign up for a Research Appointment
Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Khan Academy
Provides lessons and learning activities on everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history.
TED Talks
Video recordings of presentations from conferences sponsored by TED.
Vimeo
People connecting through video.
Ustream
Ustream is a live interactive broadcast platform. Anyone with an internet connection and a camera can start engaging with their family, friends or fans anytime, anywhere. Notable Ustream broadcasts include major political events, concerts, conferences, movie premieres, talk shows, sporting events, interactive games, and personal milestones.
YouTube
Broadcast yourself...
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Khan Academy
Provides lessons and learning activities on everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history.
TED Talks
Video recordings of presentations from conferences sponsored by TED.
Vimeo
People connecting through video.
Ustream
Ustream is a live interactive broadcast platform. Anyone with an internet connection and a camera can start engaging with their family, friends or fans anytime, anywhere. Notable Ustream broadcasts include major political events, concerts, conferences, movie premieres, talk shows, sporting events, interactive games, and personal milestones.
YouTube
Broadcast yourself...
C-SPAN Video Library
A digital archive of C-SPAN video
The Ohio Channel
The Ohio Channel is a service of Ohio's public broadcasting stations; it combines Statehouse coverage with locally produced PBS programs to give a statewide perspective on issues that affect the lives of all Ohioans.
A digital archive of C-SPAN video
The Ohio Channel
The Ohio Channel is a service of Ohio's public broadcasting stations; it combines Statehouse coverage with locally produced PBS programs to give a statewide perspective on issues that affect the lives of all Ohioans.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books. Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-
C-SPAN Video Library
A digital archive of C-SPAN video
Living Room Candidate
Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.
The Ohio Channel
The Ohio Channel is a service of Ohio's public broadcasting stations; it combines Statehouse coverage with locally produced PBS programs to give a statewide perspective on issues that affect the lives of all Ohioans.
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books. Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-
C-SPAN Video Library
A digital archive of C-SPAN video
Living Room Candidate
Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.
The Ohio Channel
The Ohio Channel is a service of Ohio's public broadcasting stations; it combines Statehouse coverage with locally produced PBS programs to give a statewide perspective on issues that affect the lives of all Ohioans.
American History in Video
Includes documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos.
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
AP Archive
The film and video archive of the Associated Press. The collection includes over 1.3 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895 sourced both from AP’s own coverage and from our premium content partners. Access is free, but registration is limited by invitation only.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender, as well as in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
Europeana
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.
Smarthistory
"A free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook." This site features countless videos of unscripted discussions between art historians about countless art objects."
Includes documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos.
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
AP Archive
The film and video archive of the Associated Press. The collection includes over 1.3 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895 sourced both from AP’s own coverage and from our premium content partners. Access is free, but registration is limited by invitation only.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender, as well as in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
Europeana
A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.
Smarthistory
"A free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook." This site features countless videos of unscripted discussions between art historians about countless art objects."
Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
A collection of English and Yiddish playscripts, theatre programs, sound and visual recordings, and photographs illustrating the diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920.
A collection of English and Yiddish playscripts, theatre programs, sound and visual recordings, and photographs illustrating the diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920.