Background/Context: Peoples and Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text ethnographies subject-indexed at the paragraph level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures 
Main Reference GN550 .E53 1991 vols. 1 – 10
Organized geographically; vol. 10 has listings of cultures by country and by ethnonym
 
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East 
Main Reference GN645 .E53 2009 vols. 1-2
 
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania 
Main Reference GN625 .W47 2009 vols. 1-2
 
Native Peoples of the World: An Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues 
Main Reference GN380.N383 2013 vols. 1 – 3
 
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities 
Main Reference GN495.4 .E63 2005 vols. 1 - 3 
 
Anthropology Databases
Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Citations for journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works, in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.

Includes records from Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

Dates of Coverage: Late 19th c. to date



AnthroSource Restricted Resource Some full text available
Publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Databases for Specific Regions/Communities
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) Restricted Resource
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of  East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.  


Bibliography of Native North Americans Restricted Resource
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.


Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.


Chicano Database Restricted Resource
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law. Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date


Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date


Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date


Handbook of Latin American Studies Unrestricted Resource
An annotated bibliography of articles and books on humanities and social science topics. Dates of Coverage: 1936 to date
Research help
Other Library Resources
OBIS 
Materials held by Oberlin College Libraries


OhioLINK 
Statewide catalog of about 90 academic libraries around Ohio; self-service borrowing; items generally arrive in 3-5 business days and circulate for 3 weeks with up to 6 renewals

Summon
Discovery layer that shows items held by library, some journal articles, and open access resources


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   
Back to TOP