Abstracts in Anthropology
Provides abstracts for articles in all fields of anthropology and archaeology.
Dates of Coverage: 2001-
Provides abstracts for articles in all fields of anthropology and archaeology.
Dates of Coverage: 2001-
Academic Search Complete

Covers scholarly journals and popular magazines on nearly every subject. Includes full text of many articles.
Anthropology Plus
International coverage of journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works, in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
Includes records from Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Dates of Coverage: Late 19th c. to the present
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, with references to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada.
Early Encounters in North America

Over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
Over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
eHRAF World Cultures

Full-text ethnographies subject-indexed at the paragraph level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Full-text ethnographies subject-indexed at the paragraph level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Dates of Coverage: 1973-
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Dates of Coverage: 1973-
PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
Covers articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters and a variety of subject areas including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.
Dates of Coverage: 1940 -
Covers articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters and a variety of subject areas including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.
Dates of Coverage: 1940 -
Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Covers all fields of anthropology, as well as aspects of geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Good for background and context, biographical information, concepts and theories.
Covers all fields of anthropology, as well as aspects of geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Good for background and context, biographical information, concepts and theories.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East
Print Location: Main Reference GN645 .E53 2009
Print Location: Main Reference GN645 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
Print Location: Main Reference GN625 .W47 2009
Print Location: Main Reference GN625 .W47 2009
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Print Location: Main Reference GN307 .E52 1996 vols. 1—10
Organized by continent, provides overviews of all cultures.
Print Location: Main Reference GN307 .E52 1996 vols. 1—10
Organized by continent, provides overviews of all cultures.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Search or browse 'volumes' organized by continent. Covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
AnthroSource

Searchable full text access to the publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Searchable full text access to the publications of the American Anthropological Association.
National Geographic Magazine Archive (1888-1994)

Includes every article and photograph from the official journal of the National Geographic Society.
Includes every article and photograph from the official journal of the National Geographic Society.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA) 
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. In progress.
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files