All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

China at war : an encyclopedia / Xiaobing Li, editor
Main Reference: DS738 .C5225 2012  
China, 5000 Years: Innovation and Transformation in the Arts
Print Location: Art Oversize N7342 .C525 1998
Exhibition catalog and website
OBIS record

Biographical Sources

Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity Some full text available
The BDCC is an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of Chinese and foreign Christian missionaries, church leaders, evangelists, and laity chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Chinese Christian communities and their influence in societies around the world. While the database is widely inclusive of time periods and faith traditions, the distinctive focus of the project is on the lesser-known Chinese Christians of the modern era (1800 to 1950).

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) Restricted Resource
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of  East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.  
Chinese Insight Restricted Resource Some full text available
Is a full-text database that provides coverage of a wide range of predominantly Chinese-language journals from both China mainland and Taiwan. It supports information and research needs related to the dynamic Greater China region. Content is indexed in both Chinese and English. 
Duxiu Restricted Resource
Content-based database searching full-text Chinese books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers. Results are readable on-line, or sendable by email to oneself.
Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date
National Social Sciences Database Restricted Resource
Provides current access to the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) over 800+ journal titles. Full text search and download both in English and Chinese. 
 
Scripta Sinica Restricted Resource Some full text available
The project for the Scripta Sinica database began in 1984. The first aim of this project was to digitize all documents essential to research in traditional Sinology. Secondly, a full-text database was established for academic research. Until present, Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. More than 580 titles ?new titles?and 423,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013

Dictionaries & Thesauri

nciku - Chinese characters and pinyin dictionary
This one lets you draw the characters with your mouse, and select the correct one from a list. The dictionary also includes pronunciation.
Zhongwen.com
Popular online Chinese character dictionary. Zhongwen.com contains the completeChinese Characters: A Genealogy and Dictionary published by Yale Press

Images

Visualizing Cultures at MIT Resource contains images
Visualizing Cultures was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. The thrust of these explorations extends beyond Asia per se, however, to address "culture" in much broader ways—cultures of modernization, war and peace, consumerism, images of "Self" and "Others," and so on.

Journals

China Research Papers Online (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Selected Chinese articles through Universities Service Centre for China Studies in Hong Kong

Library Catalogs

CALIS Online Catalog
China academic libraries' union catalog
National Library of China
The largest library in mainland China.  Use its catalog to search books, journals, newspapers etc. 

News & Analysis

Current Digest of the Chinese Press (2011 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Selections from Chinese newspapers translated into English; subject coverge includes Chinese politics and culture, international relations and security, and business and the economy.


Eastview Universal Databases Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.
note: Includes newspapers from China (in English) and Russia (in English and Russian)

Primary Sources

China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Rare pamphlets, mostly in English, on a wide variety of topics including the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations, missionaries, philosophy, art and literature and more.  
Shansi: Oberlin and Asia
An online digital collection that documents the activity of Oberlinians in Asia from the 1880s to the 1950s. It contains materials from the Oberlin Shansi Memorial Association Records and personal paper collections, and it represents a small percentage of the total amount of materials in the College Archives that relate to the work of missionaries and Shansi Representatives in China and as well as other countries.

Statistics

National Bureau of Statistics of China
Statistics related to the economypopulation and society of the People's Republic of China at national and local levels.

Web Sites

Chinese Movie Database
Chinese Movie Database is a database for the Chinese language movies and TV programmes. It has three versions, “in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and English, covering production, cast and crew, awards and biographies, reviews and books, and many other information of Chinese language movies made in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. Starting from 2006, the Database also includes TV programmes. There are 17274 film/TV programme entries, 116099 name entries, and 12352 company entries in the Database (statistics).”
Dissertation Reviews-China
Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a new site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. The goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.
Book Search
Search OBIS
Back to TOP