EAST ASIAN COLLECTION: Introduction
The East Asian Collection actively supports the teaching and research needs of East Asian Studies and the interdisciplinary programs on campus and among OhioLINK institutions. 

LOCATING MATERIALS IN THE LIBRARY
To find bibliographic information on East Asian materials, search Oberlin College Library Online Catalog - OBIS.  When searching OBIS for a topic, try a keyword search using either Romanized Chinese/Japanese or English terms.
East Asian Materials are intershelved by their call number in the main collection in Oberlin College libraries (Mudd, Art, Science and Conservatory). East Asian literature monographs (Call number PL), however, are shelved on the 3rd floor in East Asian Literature Room (MAP) at Mudd Library.

If you need further assistance, please contact, 
Runxiao Zhu
East Asian Studies Librarian 
Room 115, Mudd Library
Tel: 440-775-5116
Email: runxiao.zhu@oberlin.edu

OFFICE HOURS (Fall 2017): Wednesdays 2 - 3 pm (Mudd 115)  or MAKE APPOINTMENT
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and References
When working on a new research topic, it is often helpful to begin with these three questions,
·        
What research question you want to answer in this paper?
·         How to narrow down to specific topic?
·         What are the available USEFUL resources for your topic?
 
Beginning with reading a basic overview of the subject is often a good start.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide such overviews to help you familiarize with relevant vocabulary and to provide useful suggestions for further readings.   

Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia                  Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan           
Japan: an illustrated encyclopedia
Britannica academic                               Korean encyclopedia
Historical dictionary of the People’s Republic of China
Chinese History: A Manual, Revised and Enlarged
* Wikipedia - Please use with caution. Not all entries are reliable.

Other References Tools 
Japanese Buddhist Dictionary A to Z      
Online English Japanese Dictionary 
MDBG English to Chinese Dictionary             
Online boost tools for studying Chinese Grammar
Selected Dictionaries in Japanese, Chinese and English (Last updated Aug 2016)
A blog provides substantial information on different subjects, including Japanese maps, dictionary, regional names, Kanji dictionary etc.
For English
For Chinese
For Japanese

Resources for East Asian Language and Thought by Charles Muller (Professor from University of Tokyo)
It provides some valuable resources related to Muller's own research in Chinese thoughts, and translation of some East Asian religious texts. 
 
CJK Romanization System
OBIS/Summon DOES NOT support the search CJK language material using Chinese/Japanese/Korean characters. 
PLEASE USE THE PROPER ROMANIZATION SYSTEM

Romanization for CJK languages (Chinese/Japanese/Korean) 
Libraries use China’s pinyin system but have significant variations. Please refer to the Library of Congress New Chinese Romanization Guideline 2011 for a quick reference. The guideline also provides reference to Wade-Giles and Pinyin conversion.
For Japanese Romanization system (2012).
For Korean Romanization system (2009).
For Tibetan Romanization system (2015).
Chinese Language Databases
National Social Sciences Database Restricted Resource
Provides current access to the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) over 800+ journal titles. Full text search and download both in English and Chinese. 

Chinese Insight Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full-text database that provides coverage of a wide range of predominantly Chinese-language journals from both mainland China and Taiwan. It supports information and research needs related to the dynamic Greater China region. Content is indexed in both Chinese and English.

Duxiu Restricted Resource
A knowledge database which enables you to search for books, journals, newspapers, conference papers and dissertations in multi-discipline.

Scripta Sinica Restricted Resource Some full text available
An full text database for academic research, especially related to Chinese historic documents, including dynastic history, gazatteers, veritable records of dynasty etc.
Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical material of this scale. More than 580 titles and 423,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care.

Chinese National Libraries Reference Service Database
Provides indexes or full text for publications in China via Chinese National Libraries Alliance Reference Services, including newspapers, journals,
 dissertations, conference papers, eBooks and so on. 

Open Access Chinese E-book Database 
National Library in Taiwan includes many full text books, documents, gazetteers published from 1911-1949. 

Full Text Databases on Center of Chinese Studies Publications 
now provides full text access to most their publications. Please refer to the title for access.

Other Open Access Resources

Chinoiresie – mismatched shards of China (Australian Center on China in the World)
The site provides China-related essays by various scholars. It is also a home to “Made in China: A Quarterly on Chinese Labour, Civil Society, and Rights” and Tianxia Podcast Series.
(Essays)             (Podcast Series)

The China History Podcast by Laszlo Montgomery
Great resources to study Chinese history through podcast
= Highlighted one to recommend: “The Mongol Yuan Dynasty part 1 and 2”
 
Kanseki Repository – Collection of premodern Chinese texts
 
Chinese newspapers published in China (each title is connected to that newspaper's e-version)
120 different titles; ONLY provide the latest news in CHINESE 
Japanese and Korean Languages Database
Japanese
JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online is an index of over 1 million journal articles, dissertations, departmental bulletins etc., with links to the full text of more than three-quarters of them.

CiNii Articles Unrestricted Resource
A Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Many full-text articles from Daigaku Kiyo are available in pdf as well. The database is managed by the National Institute of Informatics.
 
NDL Digital Collection and Exhibitions Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The National Diet Library offers online galleries of digitized material with detailed English descriptions. The digitized content can be browsed on an English interface; however, the bibliographic information is available only in Japanese and must be searched using Japanese characters as well. 

Nikkei Telecom 21 Restricted Resource
Resources from more than 500 sources, cover newspapers, periodicals, research information, international sources etc.
* Please email East Asian Studies Librarian for login in information 

Nihon koten bungaku taikei honbun database  by National Institute of Japanese Literature
Japanese literature collection originally published by Iwanami Shoten in 102 volumes from 1957-1968.   Consists of major works from ancient time to early 20th century, full-text and searchable by keyword.  Search can be for the complete collection or limited to individual volumes. (OPEN ACCESS VIA INSTITUTION ONLY)

Digital Humanities Project on 3.11 Great East Japan Earthquake 
Digital Humanities Project by Steven Geofrey Brown using Japanese morphological analysis and visualization.
 
Japanese Animated Film Classics -  full-view available online (some with English subtitle)
 
Modern literature texts (Digital project by Professor Hoyt Long, University of Chicago)
Aozora bunko corpus (Aozora Search Site - Modern literature texts)  and its Instruction on how to use (in English) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovqrj43-M-Q

Korean
Classic Korean Translations, including Korean literary Collection in Classical Chinese:
SNU Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies 
It has all the Daily Diaries of Choson kings (Choson Wangjo Sillok and Illseongnok (Records of Daily Reflections)
National Institute of Korean History  (for searching articles and books).

For full list of CJK resources, please also refer to their individual subject guide for details or contact the East Asian Studies librarian to request appointment. 
Chinese Studies 
Japanese Studies 
Korean Studies
Finding JOURNAL Articles in English
Begins with,
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) Restricted Resource
BAS offers more than 850,000 records on all subjects of Asian studies published from 1971 to the present.

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary – good for nearly all subjects. scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews and more.

Other places you can look at,
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication

Web of Science Restricted Resource
It provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.

Some Open Access Journal Articles
ARS Orientalis
 
Publication of the new volume of the Silkroad Foundation’s annual, The Silk Road_ (Vol. 14 for 2016).  It is freely accessible at: http://www.silkroadfoundation.org/newsletter/vol14/, where one can download individual articles or the entire volume by going directly to.
Newspapers (HISTORIC and CURRENT)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of 12 English language newspaper from China covering 1832-1953, and representing a wide range of regions and cities including Guangzhou(Canton), Beijing (Peking) and Shanghai.
 
Japan Times (1897-2015) Restricted Resource
Full text coverage on all issues of this historically important newspaper from 1897-2015; Japan time is Japan’s oldest English-language newspaper.
 
Current Digest of the Chinese Press (2011 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selections from Chinese newspapers translated into English; subject coverage includes Chinese politics and culture, international relations and security, business and the economy etc.
 
World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013

Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

News Clippings before 1949 (Republican Period Newspapers in Chinese)
Collection of newspaper clippings, historical documents from 1930-1949, total of 139,558 titles, 165,804 pages of material. It also provides valuable information on Sino-Japanese war news media.

Old Hong Kong Newspaper (in Chinese)
A selective digital collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays (1850 – now), aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

Republican Period Chinese Entertainment Newspaper (please use the browser function to get full access to the scanned images)
Xiaobao Chinese Entertainment Newspaper
Database and Ebooks
Harvard University Database 
1. China GIS Data
2. China Historical GIS
3. China Biographical Database (CBDB)

Charles Muller Resources - Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB)
- Free version, limitation on search

HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.

Works in East Asian Languages and Societies (provided by Western Washington University, Cedar Publication)
Academic papers, books for open access in the EAS studies by Cedar Publication.

Publication by Center for International Affairs - Korea  v.1- v.7 (Library has v.5-7 in print, see OBIS record for accessing)
Hangeul: Understanding Korea Series v.1  
UKS1_Hangeul_eng.pdf pdf
Early Printing in Korea: Understanding Korea Series v.2 UKS2_Early_Printings_in_Korea_eng.pdf pdf
Korean Confucianism: Understanding Korea Series v.3  UKS3_Korean_Confucianism_eng.pdf pdf
Seoul: Understanding Korea Series v.4  UKS4_Seoul_eng.pdf pdf
Primary Sources, Images and Maps
Primary Sources 
China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Rare pamphlets, mostly in English, on a wide variety of topics including the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations, missionaries, philosophy, art and literature and more.

Digital Silk Road – Digital Archives of Cultural Heritage – by National Institute of Informatics
The site includes Digital archive of Toyo Bunko Rare books, Silk Road Maps, Stein Place name Database, Old Beijing Maps, Database of Ruins in Silk Road

Digital Archive of Chinese Buddhist Temple Gazetteers
237 gazetteers related to Chinese Buddhist history

Buddhist Texts online 
CBETA Chinese Tripitaka – Dazangjing                          
Japanese Taiso Tripitaka – Da zheng zang
Master Shengyan Dharma Drum Collection

OCL digital resources and Special Collection
Mary A. Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Artists
Mary A. Ainsworth, an Oberlin alumna of 1889, bequeathed her Japanese Artist Book collection to Oberlin College in 1950. The works are mostly from late Edo (1603-1867) to 1912.

Shansi: Oberlin and Asia
Digital collection related to the activity of Oberlinians in Asia from the 1880s & the 1950s.

Special Collection - Buddhist Text Finding Guide (coming in Nov 2017)

Special Collection - Chinese Rare books Collection (coming in Spring 2018)


Images and Maps 
Meiji Japan: The Edward Morse Collection from Peabody Essex Museum Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The Edward Morse Papers (ca. 1858-1925), document the numerous and contributions made by Morse to the areas of zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history.

Digital Collection of Chinese Women's Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period

Chinese Women's Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period

China Online Museum
100 Chinese painters from the 4th century to modern.
Back to TOP