ESIC: Books, Magazines, Newsletters & More
The Environmental Studies Information Center in the A.J. Lewis Center is a great place to find timely information on environmental issues. Oberlin users can search the ESIC online catalog. Learn more: Facebook 
All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

A to Z Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images
High quality, printable maps of all types including topographical, climate, historical, political, and thematic.

Background & Context Sources

Biodiversity Heritage Library Some full text available Resource contains images
Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries offering open access to biodiversity literature. 
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Restricted Resource
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Science Online (via Facts on File) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Indepth introductory articles in all scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.  Articles are selected from a diverse collection of Facts on File encyclopedias and other reference sources.

Data

Data.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Agricola Restricted Resource
Journals, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports; all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, from National Agricultural Library.

Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Present

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science) Restricted Resource
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature.  Includes Biological Abstracts.  Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
BuildingGreen.com Restricted Resource
Includes Environmental building news, 1992- , lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
Environment Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index Restricted Resource
Has a special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices, for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students.

GeoRef Restricted Resource
Indexes all topics in geoscience, in journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of Coverage: 1785-present

GeoScienceWorld Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.   Includes also full-text of hundreds of technical and scholarly ebooks.
note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
GreenFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles that examine environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology sources.
USGS Publications Warehouse Some full text available Resource contains images
United States Geological Survey publications.  All series and formats.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology Some full text available Resource contains images
Ecological and toxicological effects of chemical pollutants on populations and ecosystems, and the fate of pollutants in the environment.
note: Oberlin College users only.

Handbooks & Guides

FishWatch: U.S. Seafood Facts Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Easy-to-understand science-based facts to help consumers make smart sustainable seafood choice, from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of Wildlife Some full text available Resource contains images
Guides for Ohio wildlife: mammals, birds, butterflies, dragonflies, stream fishes, amphibians, reptiles, owls, raptors, spiders, waterbirds, warblers and more.

Images

Bioimages Resource contains images
Plants and animals, many images may be shared under Creative Commons license for non-commercial use, with attribution.
Global Plants Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Community-contributed database in JSTOR of more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection Resource contains images
5,000+ photos dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity on forest ecosystems. 

Journals

BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journals from scientific societies, publishers and libraries in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. 
Nature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library.
note: No access to pre-1987 articles online.  Print archive kept on campus.  See holdings in OBIS.
Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; cutting edge research, scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library. Publisher: American Association for the Advancement of Science
note: JSTOR Archive: 1880 to five years before current year.  Full archive + current issues at sciencemag.org
Science
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
note: Current Issues

Organizations & Associations

Sierra Club
America's oldest, largest, and most influential grassroots environmental organization.

Software & Web Tools

RefWorks
Bibliographic management software; an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
note: Oberlin College affiliated users only.

Web Sites

Appropedia Some full text available Resource contains images
Wiki dedicated to collaborative solutions in sustainability, appropriate technology and poverty reduction.  Try the "Surprise me!" link.  Multi- and international coverage of sustainable development.  Editing is open to all.
More Dancing Obies

Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Find Journal Articles

Web of Science

Search Web of Science™
   

Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters   

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Back to TOP