Background
Europa World Year Book
Annual publication with political and economic information on countries, territories, and international organizations

Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online library of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference material covering a broad range of topics

Historical Dictionary of Haiti
Main Reference       F1921 .H37 2012

Oxford Reference
Oxford's online reference encylopedias
Language & Literature
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates of Coverage: 1973-

Literature Resource Center
A platform with access to biographies, critical essays and ebooks related to literature studies


 
Race, Colonial History & Postcolonial Studies
The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Poetry
A collection of essays that explore postcolonial poetry through regional, historical, political, formal, textual, gender, and comparative approaches. The essays encompass a broad range of English-speakers from the Caribbean, Africa, South Asia, and the Pacific Islands.

Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920
Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century.

French Cultural Studies for the Twenty-First Century
This interdisciplinary volume analyzes previously understudied sources from nineteenth- and twentieth-century France and the Francophone world and situates them in their social, cultural and political contexts

Historical Abstracts
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date
Research help
Biography
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography
Biographies in the Oxford Reference Library series

Notable Caribbeans and Caribbean Americans: A Biographical Dictionary Main Reference CT329 .M46 2003
News/Newspapers
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1: 1718-1876
Historical Caribbean newspapers most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish.
Back to TOP