Core research tools
 
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary contains entries on all topics related to classical antiquity, including standard abbreviations for all classical texts
 
  • OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library is the catalog of all of the materials held by all of the Oberlin College Libraries.  If we own it, subscribe to it, or have electronic access to it, OBIS knows!
  • OhioLINK Library Catalog represents the holdings of nearly 90 academic libraries around the state, plus some large public libraries.  You can borrow materials from other libraries through the OhioLINK catalog. Most items are delivered within 3 - 5 business days.
     
  • Summon is a library search engine that helps you discover a wide range of materials regardless of subject area or format.  It's a great starting pointn for many research projects.  Try it and see what you can find!
     
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) helps you get books and articles that aren't available at Oberlin.
 
  • WorldCat 
    Search the catalogs of US and foreign libraries; identify materials that may be borrowed through ILLiad
Finding Secondary Sources
Google Scholar
Includes scholarly articles and book citations for a wide variety of disciplines. When you are on campus, Google Scholar links to library resources

JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

Année Philologique
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages.
Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date

 
Research help
What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. 

In your 150-200 word annotation, you should:
 
  • SUMMARIZE one or two main arguments in the text that are relevant to your topic
 
  • EVALUATE the text based on its usefulness to your topic and how it compares to your other sources
 
  • REFLECT on the applicability of the source to your own research
Why write an annotated bibliography?
In writing an annotated bibliography, your purpose is:
 
  • To survey the literature on a particular topic and present a corpus of related sources from varying perspectives.
 
  • To describe the relevance, accuracy, and overall quality of the selected sources.
 
  • To provide accurate citations for readers to pursue after reading relevant annotations?
 
  • To keep the writer/reader up to date with current or historical developments in a particular field or discipline.
Citation Help
Chicago Manual of Style
Click on Citation Quick Guide > Go to Notes and Bibliography Style

Sample Annotations
Courtesy of the Purdue OWL

RefWorks
Citation manager, document organizer, available for free; can keep after graduation
Back to TOP