International Law & Organizations

International Organizations
A guide to major intergovernmental organizations, regional organzations, and non-governmental organizations

Encyclopedia of Associations
Directory listings of more than 140,000 nonprofit membership associations in all subjects and areas at the international and national levels worldwide. Current through 2011.

TREATIES

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Main Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003 vols. 1 - 4

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances
Main Reference KZ 1160 .P48 2001 vols. 1 - 2

The Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: A History and Guide with Texts
Main Reference KZ64 .G74 2001 vols. 1 & 2

 

UN Treaty Collection
The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.

International Courts


Legal Dictionaries

Handbook of International Law
Main Reference KZ 3410 .A97 2005 

International Law Dictionary
Main Reference JX 1226 .B57 1987

Black's Law Dictionary 
Main Reference KF156 .B53 2004

See more on International Law

Business & Economics

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to business journals, case studies, company profiles and market research reports, covering all aspects of business, management, finance, accounting, and economics.


EconLit Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive index of economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. Also includes full text for hundreds of journals.  Dates of coverage: 1886 to date


See more in Economics and Business

See also Statistics & Data

Politics

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-



Hein Online - Law and Government Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource

Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--


 
Research help
Google Advanced Search

Customized searching:

  • Using the 'News' tab, Click on 'Tools' and use the 'Recent' drop-down to indicate Custom Date Ranges

  • Add quotations to keep 

  • Exclude keywords by typing -keyword

  • Exclude sites by typing -site:url

  • Exclude domains by typing -site:.domain

  • Search for specific document type by typing filetype:filetype

  • Search for related sites by typing related:url

  • Search for exact words by clicking Tools>Verbatim

  • Archived sites can be found through the wayback machine.

News & Newspapers


Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available -- Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information most of which are available in full text. The service includes newspapers, magazines, wire services and legal sources.

World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available

See the NEWS & NEWSPAPERS page for finding guides to major newspapers and links to other news databases.

US Government Sources

Data.gov
Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. 


Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.

ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.

Back to TOP