Background/Context
Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion Main Reference PN471 .F43 2005
OBIS record


Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Oxford Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

 
Research Tools to Know About
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses 
search English and foreign language dissertations, more recent dissertations often have previews available (get the texts by ordering on OhioLINK if available, checking google to see if it's online, or using ILLiad to order)

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) 
Order books, journal articles or microfilm not available through OhioLINK or any of our databases

WorldCat 
Search the catalogs of US and foreign libraries; identify materials that may be borrowed through ILLiad
Finding Scholary Articles
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date


Google Scholar
Searches academic papers and Google books with links to the library catalog for Full-text

Historical Abstracts
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

Literature Resource Center
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.

MLA International Bibliography
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date


Project MUSE (partial access)
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.

Women's Studies International
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
 
Research help
Finding Books on Early Modern Period
  • Search OBIS, the OC Library catalog
  • Search OhioLINK, a 90+ member consortium of academic libraries in Ohio
  • Search Google Books, which utilizes full-text search to provide snippets of texts, then copy and paste the title of the book into OBIS or OhioLINK to find a library-owned copy
Back to TOP